Yum, tried this in my mini oven: Paleo coconut banana cake.

in #ecotrain7 years ago (edited)

I got a gardening calendar for my birthday from my neighbour, I look on it daily, or at least most days. ;-) Sometimes I get to rip off three pages at a time, which is also fun.
Yesterday an age old rhyme on my gardening calendar told me that the tree sap is moving back up into the trees and that if you still wanted to prune your trees...you were too late. Lucky I did my apple-, pear- and plum tree a few weeks ago.
It is more proof though that pre-spring season has started. (See my post about pre-spring here: https://steemit.com/ecotrain/@clara-andriessen/poem-awaking-wind ) And that makes me happy!

Every day I am excited to see what my calendar says:
Today the 21st of Januari it said that since a long time ago it is believed that on this date the bees fly out and the birds mate. As the sun was out too, this seemed like a good day to do some gardening. I still had seeds from the lilly of the valey flower and a few yellow tulip bulbs. I know it was actually past te time to plant them, but as I had been looking forward so much to seeing them bloom, I took my chances and planted them. Well, only after working through a jungle of weeds.
I made some jewish chicken soup, ate that and had a nice little Sunday afternoon nap, after which I went for a walk in beautiful nature here. I came back feeling hungry, but instead of wanting to cook, I felt like making a cake. I looked up a recipe and got out my mini oven and a few bowls and started.

From: Geniuskitchen.com

READY IN: 25mins (about right) SERVES: 16 (Ehm, don't know about that.)

INGREDIENTS:
1⁄2 cup coconut flour
1 tablespoon coconut flour
1⁄2 teaspoon baking soda
8 tablespoons refined coconut oil
2 large eggs
1 very ripe banana
1 1⁄2 teaspoons vanilla
3⁄4 cup dark chocolate chips

DIRECTIONS
In a medium bowl mix the coconut flour and the baking soda together.
In a large bowl mix together the coconut oil,banana, eggs, and vanilla.
Then mix the dry ingredients into the wet.
Add the chocolate chips.

Bake at 350oF or 180oC for 12 minutes.

I left the chocolate chips out and replaced a quarter of a cup of coconut flour for buckwheat flour. (Buckwheat is not a grain and is thus pretty ok paleo-wise.) My banana wasn't so ripe so I added some agave sirup to sweeten it up.(Basically I changed the whole recipe, lol.) I also needed to leave it in the oven longer, before it started to exude that nice cake smell. And when it did, it came out like this:

IMG_20180121_185556043.jpg

It was so good, I ate half of it already, burning my fingers getting it out of the tray. And as you can see below, it has rissen sufficiently. It had a nice fluffy texture in my mouth.

IMG_20180121_192009155.jpg

The vanilla taste blended well with the banana and the 8 spoons of coconut oil, which seemed a bit much to me at the time, made it have a rich feel. Overal a good recipe, one I will probably make again. I'm not sure I am making diner anymore, maybe something small. I am pretty satisfied.

Lots of Love Clara

This was an ecotrain post for more of our wonderful articles written by inspired writers sharing their passion check out @ecotrain

Sort:  

Serves: ME :-)

What the heck is coconut flour? Dried grated coconut?

Hi Bubke, It is pretty much just the fiber.
It's like a waste product from extracting the oil. You can make it yourself.You can see here how:

Hey but this is just fantastic, i always make my coconut milk and never know what can be done with the leftover pulp, thanks for this great information Clara

Ha ha! yeah and much lighter to digest then flour made from grains. Show us what you make with it next time. :-)

that looks yummy! how is it that 1 banana can change the texture of a baked good so much? ripe bananas are magical!

Nice, I do like coconut flour, I've used it a bit making raw cakes, really like the look of this one and yeah no sugar. Thanks for sharing x

OOOH PALEO HEAVEN! nice recipe, and super healthy too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58430.35
ETH 2623.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42