You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What is patriarchy? Is a patriarchy the same as a society led by men, or is it more, a society led by fear and a feeling of scarcity, that happens to be an environment in which the masculine takes charge?

in #ecotrain6 years ago (edited)

That is such an interesting way of looking at it! I see where you are going with the idea of there not being a spiritual leader in a system, but I think in this time and age this is something that needs to happen on the inside. We need to have the part of ourselves that is spiritual/that is our spirit to sit on our throne to guide us. But our spirit should also listen to its subjects. A democracy is in my eyes a system in which people have a right to vote for representing leaders, which doesn't work flawlessly but still gives us some power. That we abuse it does not mean the system is bad. The system is just an instrument. I do believe people should learn to think and decide for themselves in this time and age. I would never want to go back to ancient Egypt and the way things worked then. It doesn't suit this time and age anymore, like I said the spiritual leadership should be on our inside. What I read are all symptoms of a patriarchic mindset, but not the cause of it. Maybe democracy facilitated the 'beast' coming out but it was there already. What was the cause? You can check out my view on it in my article:
https://steemit.com/ecotrain/@clara-andriessen/what-is-patriarchy-is-a-patriarchy-the-same-as-a-society-led-by-men-or-is-it-more-a-society-led-by-fear-and-a-feeling-of

Sort:  

the cause, if i didnt make it clear, was the ability for people to have OWNERSHIP of land and resources.. and for that ownership to be unrestricted and unlimited..

this combined with soulless leaders was a recipe for all that followed..

Soulless leaders are never good. Ownership of land, hm I don't know. Not so good maybe, maybe it could work as a convenience settlement. But then again that would only work if all people behaved decently. I agree it facilitated things, but I still feel it was NOT the cause.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58589.32
ETH 2636.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45