Sort:  

That's yummy! We call it langka in the Philippines. Favourite of my husband. So sweet and delicious, sometimes we cook for additional taste when making sweets. Love that!

Nice connection @sherylneil :) Following you from Thailand and looking fwd to seeing how you use it traditionally in the Philippines. :)

What a great story!!! Here they make pulled jackfruit (like pulled pork) and jackfruit tacos. I havent yet tried them but they are all the vegan rage.

Jackfruit tacos? wow - the mind boggles. OK - I'm gonna start small and get the old uncle next door to show me this weekend how to cut and clean the immature jackfruit for making Thai curry. Get @nabithecat to photograph it and make a post about it. Make the old uncle a steem-star!! :) Yay!!!

Harvesting the fruit actually bonded us

It did!! Especially the old uncle next door who LOVES doing things for people and being needed. :) I love that you saw that too! :)

One of my favorite Filippino dishes is nangka (as jackfruit is called there) cooked in coconut milk, using the young, unripe fruit as vegetable.
There was a time when I had that almost daily as lunch in a small roadside eatery for months, never got tired of it.

Wow. So when you wander over to Chiang Mai I'm gonna make you the Thai version of that! Deal! Promise! :)

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

I'm fascinated by how big this fruit gets! I bet it's great at least it sounds like an amazing experience and it seems like just a piece would be enough for a whole family :)
I really enjoyed reading your post, especially because everyone was so excited about trying it!

Glad you enjoyed, Angelo. Just another Thai experience. haha. 16 years here and it is showing no signs of letting up! :) Something in me LOVES the way our whole little neighbourhood is focused on this fruit. Following you from Chiang Mai. :)

Excellent post .I'm too full f mangoes and pineapples and ginkgo to even think about jackfruit at this moment

I literally Laughed Out Loud. If one more well-meaning neighbourly person brings me green mangoes I shall SCREAM! After some great input from @riverflows from the @ecotrain I am going to attempt a Sri Lankan Green Mango Curry this week. :) Stay tuned.

My mouth is watering now just THINKING about it!!

Jackfruits are weird! I am sure they have b12 as it seems to be a plant evolving towards animal life by the vibe of it ;-)When I see them in the Indian jungle I always think it's an animal climbing or hanging in a tree.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62269.38
ETH 2424.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58