Sort:  

Yes. It is HARD for me to work on face scrubs and tattoo aftercare product and pretty websites with this heavy in my heart this morning. I do it knowing that the $$ generated from lip balms to Singapore is a real solution to begin to provide sustainable income and livelihoods for displaced people. Without product demand, the compassion cup will soon run dry. The hardest part of passion projects for passionate people is setting it aside briefly in the interests of feeding the fire long term. Almost there.... Breathing. Applying excellent organic Lao coffee. Ironically.

Sadly, we will not be short of stories like this.

omg.. so terrible.. no one looking out for them ;-( thanks for highlighting this!

Thank you for caring enough to read, Alex. I am profoundly disturbed that the "No dams" debate has fallen off the table and that these people have no voice. I KNOW you see and feel this in India too.

Yes, not much gets out about what happens locally here.. many terrible things yes!

Suddenly feeling depleted that my minimal lifestyle means I no longer own a copy of Arundhati Roy's essays. Think I need to remedy that and devour it again. :)

The South Korean company building the dam knew of its imminent collapse. "All of our 53 nationals who were taking part in this construction evacuated in advance," the ministry said in a statement.

This is terrible. What a terrible thing. So many people!

I am even more honoured to know you, for being part of the Franklin River protest. That was so huge!!! I was quite young then but it still had an impact on me.

Thanks for being the aware, caring and socially conscious woman you are. The world needs folk like you to care.

Hugs

The Franklin River is so spectacular and I have hiked those pristine rugged mountains btwn Cradle Mountain & Port Davey... there was NO OTHER SANE RESPONSE than honest vocal protest when something so important and magnificent was threatened. I protested with Xanana Gusmao's wife and about 50,000 others too when the Aussie govt condoned the Indonesian slaughter in what was then East Timor. To say nothing in my world makes you complicit. The world needs ALL OF US TO CARE, to speak and to act.

Absolutely. I think about the times I've been working and I couldn't get to protests that I cared about. We used to drive down to Tassie and take big boxes of food down to those who were protesting the logging of old growth down there. I did get to the Iraq War one, though that didn't help much, and a few others in Melbourne - it's always important to speak up, I agree, and I love that you do here.

I am with you in those prayers and light and wish that all will be safe and happy soon. Much love 💚💚💚

I believe the intention, the meditation, the prayer and the conscious direction of our light can literally change this physical world. Thank you. x

I'm so sorry to hear that this has happened, and that there is so little compassion about it in Thailand, where the dam apparently is. If they don't care this time, they won't do anything to prevent next time.

Thank you for your dedication to earth protection.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60907.24
ETH 3249.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45