HOW DO YOU KNOW WHEN IT IS TIME TO GIVE UP SOMETHING?

in #ecotrain5 years ago

Greetings of the day to all the lovely steemiens

@ecotrain thrown us a dime which have many faces. The topic is all look like complex and many have to dig deep into the memory it seems, I believe for many, from who are all trying to participate in they need to take a u turn through their memory line and many might have got some mixed emotions due to the special way this question is presented to us.

The precise response that to be answered from the post is simple, but it touches or interconnected with so many other things too. Words like Dream, desire are enough to create essays of different categories if anyone wants, is it so?

Like a saying if there is a will there is a way, or like the famous lines of Paulo Coehlo that if anyone wishes to have something so badly and strongly then the entire universe may conspire to achieve it. And these are all exactly opposite to the question it seems. So it is better not to try too much lines expanding on it.

But before I brief my own story on the topic, I would like to say few things on the real topic on this ecotrain's dime, on the disappointment or mental state one must experience or how to overcome the pain of losing something which we really don't wish to ever.

Maybe I would like to ask the readers that "does maturity/age plays a role in reducing the impact when comes across such situations, at least.for few people. or listening to the wisdom words by saints or motivational speakers during those critical moments helps the person any good. I don't have a concrete answer, but from my personal experience I think those are some relevant points that can be taken into a serious discussion if anyone wants to!

There is an Indian Book namely Happiness Unlimited which costs less than 2 dollars. First few chapters of it are enough for anyone to get a different perspective to the losses and other material stuffs. A topic I still remembers mentions about the material possession and happiness, like a car or a home which we were dreaming for quite a long time is the real reason for our happiness. The book says a big No and it makes sense too with its supporting argument. What it says that if it is so we would be having the same happiness as long as those are with us, but normally after a month or so we would lose interest and the happiness level looking or aiming for a latest model car or an another type of villa, is it so?

Basic life support class.jpg

Now, coming back to my experience -though I have many in my life which few of it strictly personal and some others that could had been avoided, the one I would like to present here is of a bike which I learned to drive in my life and owned it later, the story dating back to few decades back.

It was a 100cc bike during the initial years of two wheeler revolution in India. At first me along with few close friends put all the saved pocket money to buy it and after college life has ended I convinced my home to buy it paying back the share amount to friends,

Then the Yamaha RX100 was became the property of five brothers and our friends too as it was one among very few priced possession in home town and it remained so for many years afterwards. I roamed many neighboring districts, tourist spots and had some long drives too. Many close friends and their friends had learned driving in that bike that some people started calling it as driving school.

It became an integral part of the life for years and had exploited its presence with us to such an extent that it looked like its life time capacity has been achieved within a short span of time. Every year we used to take it to the showroom for its full refurbishment, sometime with new painting and plating, changing many of its parts to new one etc.

And two years after completing my professional Engineering degree, I left my home country to middle east leaving the bike. On my first annual leave as I returned back to my home on one fine day and as I wished to make a visit to my close friend who was staying nearby after spending some time with parents and other members in the home, to my utter surprise and shock my elder brother conveyed to me that it has sold to someone few months back and bought a new one which was there in the front of the house.

I was not informed or else, I could definitely said a big no and moreover from the condition of the bike I was damn sure that they might got only a pittance comparing with the emotional value of the bike had with me. I was angry, shouted to all, frustrated to the core such that I did not had food from the home that day. It was so significant as I returned home after an year spending the days in the desert and parents were prepared special favorite dishes of mine for lunch and dinner.

IMG-20190604-WA0013.jpg

I spend that day with my friend and went to the guy's home who bought the bike. I saw it in his porch maintained with care in an almost fresh look. I requested to return it back agreeing to pay more than what he spent for with all other expenses he had incurred over it. Though he was shown signs of agreeing it after I compelled so much, but soon his father interfered in our discussion. The father looked to be rude and we were having no other option but leave back with an empty heart and I was having no other option other than to leave it with a heavy heat.

Out of many bikes and cars that we bought after that first one, for me still the memory of that bike remains special. Many years passed and bikes from those batches are very rare to find but still while out on the street and hearing the special sound anywhere or road I used to feel like run behind it to know whether it is mine or not.

During those time, forget about a cameras in mobile there was not even digital camera were existing and the only one able to get you a photograph was professionals and I was lucky to dig up a photo of the bike on which me and my brother is sitting on a holiday.

Hope the story finds it way to the list for this contest

Signature Name.gif

divider-1024.png

This is an Invitation to join #ccc for Guaranteed 👍 Daily Income 💵 and Payout 💸 for Newbies (2.0) 🐟 🐜 🐛 in #ccc 👣 and Follow 👣 the Honor Code 🏅 - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside)
AND
the latest update <<< please click to read.

divider-1024.png

signature_1.gif

Sort:  

a lot of wise words here.. thanks for sharing your personal stories entwined with your ideas... ,mmm yes age and experience does help us.. get used to.. letting go..

thanks for taking part!

Happy for taking part in some worthy stuffs, and I am glad it gave me a chance to take back my good old memories dating many years which of course brought a smile since that day I wrote it.

Have a good day.

@angelro purchased a 17.36% vote from @promobot on this post.

*If you disagree with the reward or content of this post you can purchase a reversal of this vote by using our curation interface http://promovotes.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57810.45
ETH 3116.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43