You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Did the Simpsons warn us of a U.S. Economy crash?

in #economy7 years ago (edited)

Where are you getting your positive news of the world economy? Please share a positive economic world news story. Also, everybody knows we are subject to a faulty financial system, but what can we do about it? Don't you think the currency devaluation (which happens when stocks rise and not crash) is a much bigger problem? If you are promoting Bitcoin so heavily, you should be focusing on the market rising to unforeseen levels that would devalue the dollar. That is the selling point that Bitcoin relies upon. When the DOW hits 50,000, every dollar will be worth .39 cents. If Lisa's crash prophecy comes true, the stock market will crash and every dollar will be worth more than it is now. The problem is, the market very rarely crashes, and when it finally does it doesn't go down a large enough percentage to inflate the value of your dollar. I think you understand because you stated that bailouts lead to economic slavery, but bailouts equal very large bullish stock prices. Plus, in your first comment you stated that economies around the world are in a crisis. But, then in your second comment you wrote that media looks positively at the world economy. So you think the media is lying by saying the world economy is doing well, when it really isn't? The thing about that is if you look at world economy ETF's or track the markets of the world, they are doing very well right now. Also, I could share a million stories of negatively biased world economy news stories. I just googled World economy and this is the first story that came up:

https://plus.google.com/+TheEconomist/posts/gfJkN1CB4ib

This is the next story:

http://www.smh.com.au/business/the-economy/a-return-to-world-trades-glory-days-appears-unlikely-20170714-gxb7ik.html

This is the 3rd:

http://www.cnbc.com/2017/07/18/australias-central-bank-sees-more-positives-in-domestic-world-economy.html

Please find me a positive story! This is the EEM stock chart:

https://finance.yahoo.com/quote/EEM/

So basically, the news is lying by saying that world growth is negative when the charts prove that world growth is positive! Did you learn? I love your Simpson's correlation, please agree

Sort:  

Well, if I'm entirely honest, I don't think media is a reliable indicator for economic trends. For every negative article you pull out, you could find another positive one. Here are a few examples:

"OECD says global economic outlook has improved"
https://www.ft.com/content/00b8fc52-4ad8-11e7-a3f4-c742b9791d43?mhq5j=e1

"Global economy growing: IMF"
http://www.skynews.com.au/business/business/market/2017/04/19/global-economy-growing--imf.html

"The global economy enjoys a synchronised upswing"
https://www.economist.com/news/leaders/21718868-past-decade-has-been-marked-series-false-economic-dawns-time-really-does-feel

"The global economic recovery is for real"
https://www.ft.com/content/27bd72c8-2121-11e7-b7d3-163f5a7f229c?mhq5j=e1

So I'm not personally accusing all media of lying, but I do not believe they are reliable in any sense.

Next, it seems you are heavily focused on the stock market, however stocks are not the only driving force in any market. Currencies appreciate and depreciate for a number of reasons - stock market (yes, it's a factor), fiscal policy (where the Central Bank pours more currency into the economy, bringing down its value), demand for the currency etc.

The value of Bitcoin does not currently come from the stock market, per se, but its limited supply. The dollar, or any other fiat currency, is essentially unlimited in supply since more can be created out of nothing at any time the bank chooses. Bitcoin, however, is like gold and has a limited supply (21mil. bitcoin to be specific). This gives it inherent value, unlike the dollar, pound, euro etc. which have no inherent value on their own.

Also, by economic slavery I meant something different. What I meant was that bailouts are essentially huge loans which need to be paid back somehow and put a country's economy into the hands of the country which loaned it the money. So the provider begins to run the economy which is indebted to them.

These are issues which are inherent to fiat currency which is controlled by banks and not by the countries and governments which so recklessly use it.

I'm sorry if I've missed out on something XD I'm getting slightly lost.

Very STRONG reply! You are impressing me with your knowledge. I like your fight back and show proof mentality. You pulled out some nice article examples. The one thing that I noticed is that your articles are from March and April 2017, which is semi close range, but when day trading on the media, you must look at articles every minute, every day and track what happens during a short and long window. But in your case, you are a winner and prove your point. Your articles actually prove me wrong because they are correctly written. I don't read ft.com because it is subscription based, but they are 2-0 in my book after reading your examples. I also agree with all your other data points about the dollar and bitcoin. I have always believed the dollar is manipulated by the fed and it is unfair to the American people. I am not sure why we were even debating after reading your comeback. I think my system is more reliant on BusinessInsider and ZeroHedge being wrong consistently. Try reading them and get back with me and see if you agree they are terrible forecasters. Thanks for your genius reply. I gave you a follow and hopefully we can be friends. Read some of my articles and see what you think. Thanks

https://steemit.com/@unscammable

Oh boy!!! XD I feel like I've passed a test!!!

Thank you! Really! ^^ I will definitely have a look at your blog ^^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 63003.41
ETH 3122.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52