Week 6 Update | #ShopSmallLiveBig

in #economy6 years ago

I experienced a miracle in consumerism this week.

[Image from pexels.com - CC0 Public Domain]

I am a curvy girl. I haven't always been but I have accepted the way I look for right now and that is relatively good. It is relatively bad, however that I just accepted how pants fit me. I have a very narrow waist in comparison to my big ol' booty junk in the trunk badonk a donk rear end. I had resigned myself to the reality of getting pants that fit my hips and thighs and were several sizes to big at the waist.

This week a miracle graced me with its presence in the form of a pair of second-hand l.e.i. jeans. They are absolutely perfect and I'm so happy that I found them. I would not have found such fabulous pants if I had not been shopping at the local thrift store by my house.

In other news, I have bought a lot of takeout again this week because I'm terrible. It's all from locally-owned restaurants but I know it's still not a mindful use of my income. I've been working 55hr weeks the last few weeks, though, and it has become difficult to actually go home and cook for myself.

[Image from pexels.com - CC0 Public Domain]

There is also no progress on the raised-bed front. I was going to have the pallets delivered this week to get started but I failed to contact the seller on Thursday and now I'm broke again. I'm going to try again this Thursday but I'm not holding my breath in hopes that these original ones are still available. There is also always the chance that I could get some for free from my job and in that case I will opt to pay no money. As for the dirt and such, I have numbers to call and check on getting it delivered but with the ground being frozen I just haven't bothered.

My truck still isn't running but the next free day I have when the ground isn't covered in icy, frozen death, I will be dropping the gas tank and running it through with clean gas and a bunch of Lucas Fuel Injector Cleaner. That will also involve going to a locally-owned auto supply shop which will require me to have a free Saturday afternoon - a laughable idea, really.

[Image from pexels.com - CC0 Public Domain]

I talked earlier this week about food deserts. If you're not familiar with that term, I encourage you to check it out and also do your own research on it. People like to tell me that it shouldn't exist - as if they're saying it doesn't exist. While I totally agree that it is a situation that shouldn't exist, I can assure you all that it is absolutely the reality for many Americans.

I will be posting more Small Business Showcase videos on YouTube so if you're interested, check those out.

Also, keep an eye out on the Perceiving A Life page on Facebook in the next few weeks. I'm going to try to start getting local businesses to do small giveaways in exchange for online involvement.

Sort:  

well done! I've been struggling with mindful spending as well. It's so easy to feel sorry for myself and buy take out! And I just discovered what food deserts were this past summer. I've been planning to grow enough to give away to those in need for years, but now I can focus on the food deserts around me. Our whole food system is messed up.

I'm allowing myself to feel sorry for myself and buy whatever I want but ONLY if I can get it from a local retailer. Right now I'm on a desperate hunt for eyebrow pencils to cover up the evidence of my alopecia and I think I have found a place to buy from but now I have to get some spending money together lol. In the mean time, I'm learning a lot about contentment.

Also, I agree wholeheartedly. Our food system is messed up.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by PerceivingALife from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60250.72
ETH 3377.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52