You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A short video on the reality of wealth distribution in the US

in #economics8 years ago

I agree with you. Imagine two pathways steemit could take:

  1. Content from anywhere and everywhere is posted, and the content that is high-quality tends to get upvoted, even if it wasn't created by the person who posted it. This upvoting causes a small number of people to follow the video back to youtube, and learn who created it, and learn what their goals are, and learn their goal-structured worldview, and learn who is allied with them, and "get involved." YouTube(Google) certainly pays the poster for the content, and YouTube(Google) also hopes that lots of people will see YouTube(Google) content, even if they see it embedded in other blogs and websites in an ecosystem scattered all over the internet. In fact, YouTube(Google) is aware when such videos are being played in other blogs, and they are aware when those videos are being played "all the way through"(so other advertising gets through, and so other links are seen at the close of the video).
  2. Content posting from other sites is limited. (This is an artificial limit, imposed by Steemit) ...This just means that Steemit is "going against the laws of information"(the simplest path to maximum information distribution) and "going against the laws of economics"(the simplest path to decision-making). This pathway means steemit is, on one variable, opening itself up to unnecessary losses from more optimal competitors.

I don't think that steemit should be "a closed system." I think they should be "a maximally open system."

I understand if they need to fear being a "Napster" that is shut down for copyright infringement. However, I don't believe this is the case right now. YouTube fully understands that they are the source of a huge ecosystem, and have found ways to profit from being that source that don't require cooperation from that ecosystem.

That business model is probably optimal, and those that don't work with it are relegated to the graveyard of incorrect thinking.

This is just my .02. I don't claim with certainty that I'm right about all I've just written, but this is my initial reaction. Some sentences I've just written have much higher confidence values than others, because this is not going to be carefully edited.

Sort:  

Steemit gives you a lot of freedom, and the users on here have a lot of respect for the creators of the content they share. No one is really ripping anyone on here (that I have seen). That makes this site really cool. You should take that comment, expand it a little more, and you have a good post on a concerning topic.

I think I am fine because I don't take the credit for other people's work. They still get the credit. If anyone disagrees, they can just down-vote or flag my post. I won't hold it against them. I don't make much money on these anyways, so it doesn't matter too much to me. I just want to share these great videos with fellow steemers instead of my Facebook friends that don't give a crap. I really hate Facebook to be honest (but I love Steemit!).

I don't disagree enough to flag these kinds of posts. I'd rather we, as a community talk it out, first. To me a flag is for something that is clearly wrong. This is still grey for me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65634.72
ETH 3493.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51