You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are there any truly free markets? Win 50 SP.

in #economics7 years ago

Whenever and wherever two people engage in an uncoerced exchange, you have a free market in action. It may be a barter, it may involve payment. If it is a private transaction between two people without outside interference, that is a free market.

I would love to find just about anyplace where that could still occur these days "in the real world." It actually does at random times and places, but I long for the ideal of the "agora," nothing more than a place where people can freely bring their wares to sell, and any and everyone can bring their needs and wants and money to buy without some gang of thugs (read "city" or "state") forcing issues and collecting blood money.

I have heard of but not yet been to the Rainbow Gatherings that happen from time to time in various forests. Those may be very close to free market environments. I'm sure there are better sources of information than Wikipedia... Along similar lines is the annual Jackalope Festival in Arizona, as best as I recall primarily driven by Alma Sommer. I haven't yet been to that either.

As an agorist, I'm personally working on growing a free market enterprise, and I hope to write more about it from time to time here on Steemit.

There are beginning to be free market "virtual places" on the internet, facilitated by the use of blockchains and cryptocurrencies. "Places" like OpenBazzaar that enable peer to peer transactions. I've dabbled there, without much success thus far, but to be honest I haven't as yet made a "full court press" to try and pull in sales in that realm.

It's not yet clear to me whether or not Steemit can be or become a free market. I've had a hard time eliciting any information about "policies" or objections in that regard. I have seen a few people attempting to promote their wares here, and I may even attempt to do the same at some point.

Thanks for a great article and such an engaging question! ;)

😄😇😄

@creatr

Sort:  

Thank you so much for an awesome answer! I will need to find out about Rainbow Gatherings - thanks for the links!

@thecryptofiend not here for the rewards just a fan

It is my belief that the only truly free markets are basically black markets..

but they say that black markets don't deliver the best products nor services either and prone to damage and no insurance coverage. Would rather not deal with the black market though you are right - it has found its way to beat the system.

Yes that is true - if you are operating outside the law you can't complain to anyone if the quality is inadequate!

@thecryptofiend so I'd rather work with legal services and products.
Am staying away from black markets - very very risky

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66052.74
ETH 3320.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69