Introducing a series of posts focusing on the indirect value of naturesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #ecology7 years ago

There are lots of monetary gains from natural resources, as well as nature itself. We are all familiar with the direct value of nature, such as harvesting coal, wood and other resources directly from nature.

Most people are not that aware of the indirect value of nature, such as the many ecosystem services that we get for free, simply by having nature around. To be a part of changing this, I am going to be posting a short series of posts about the indirect value of nature, writing a little bit about what nature gives us for free, and how much it would cost to have these services without nature.

The concept of indirect value is widely used in conservation efforts, and are getting more and more common these days. The basic idea behind the indirect use values is that it is sustainable, and we do not have to spend resources in order to use it.

I will also try to find some sources to put a number on the value on the ecosystem service. This will let us know how much we would have to pay if we were to reproduce the service ourselves, which can be a nice way to “put a price” on the ecosystem in question. For some people, this does not really matter, and would want to conserve it anyway, but it is a nice argument against people who oppose conservation. What I find most fascinating about this is that in some cases, the indirect value far outreaches the direct value people would get from harvesting the resources!

Most indirect value from nature is public goods, and every single one of us are using ecosystem services all the time. Did I get your curiosity? Good! The first post is coming up later today, so if you are not already following me, make sure to do that, and you will get all the posts in the series directly to your feed right away. For the first post, we are taking a closer look at how aquatic ecosystems are providing us with free waste-water treatment, which is a very nice service that would be very expensive for humans to replicate on a large scale.


Make sure to check out my next post to learn why ecosystems like this one is important for its indirect economical value. Image by Akemulus, posted with the Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 4.0 International license.

Below are some of the topics I want to cover in the series on nature’s indirect value:

  • Waste treatment
  • Water and soil protection
  • Nutrient retention
  • Carbon sequestration
  • Climate regulation
  • Environmental monitors
Sort:  

"Indirect value of nature" kind of amuses me, I am pretty sure I get where you're coming from with that turn of phrase, I just got stuck with the thought "yeh we'd have a pretty tough time without nature around" but that's just me being pragmatic and not wanting to live in an entirely "artificial" environment XD

I read the first post about aquatic systems (because I unthinkingly did my feed top down instead of bottom up like I usually do), I do enjoy your posts :)

Hah , great to see other people doing that, It happens , I was looking for someone to vote for :D , but when I have more time I do that with posts and blogs in general , scroll around t the bottom , see the start go up from there , It' a shame the system here is built in a wierd way , where you are only distributing 10% or so of the daily Steem from miners , or something along those lines , giving you a follow and will check your blog :), Nice write below your profile :)

Thanks ^_^

Yeh I generally have to remember not to automatically hit the [End] button because of the infinite scroll XD

Very interesting I am looking forward to reading more on this topic. Thanks @valth.

Thanks, I am glad you are interested in it :)

I got recommended a video by YT a couple of month ago ,


The Secrets of Water, The Documentary of Viktor Schauberger "Comprehend and Copy Nature"
still haven't given it the attention it deserves , it can take a number of times watching it , i found it very true and a interesting fact of how life goes and forgets what happened before, along with the many great "gems" inside.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jan 12. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $6.22 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 12 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Great idea, I'll follow you so I won't miss anything!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70839.13
ETH 3563.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77