Sunday Morning Garden

in #ecology6 years ago (edited)

I love Sunday mornings. This one is cool and damp and bright. It's nice to have some respite after a busy week. A young member of my blended family joined me this week to help with the garden through the summer. His exams finished on Wednesday and he arrived on Friday in the nick of time to attend to my kitchen garden.

IMG_1944.JPG
Cauliflower and tomatoes got staked, and mulch on the tomatoes.

There were so many maintenance jobs to do. My friends, Jo and Rich, who run the Female Gardening Company, had come and cut the grass for me a week or two ago after it had grown knee-high with rain and sun and me going on holiday at the critical moment. But now it needed cutting again and was just reaching the point where my very old domestic mower wouldn't cut it.

IMG_1942.JPG
Half the lawn was covered in these funghi. The slugs had had a good feast.

The grass is growing much better this year (much of it was moss). My neighbour had about a third trimmed from her tree last October, so much more light is coming into the garden. It's made a big difference - the panier on the mower was full, plenty of grass clippings to put on the kitchen garden. Funghi are everywhere, people look a bit puzzled and keep saying, "Is this the right time of year?"

Everything, even the aubergines which had been attacked by slugs, is growing well in the kitchen garden. So well, that many things needed staking. That was the next job, building a little scaffold around each plant to support it. Then spreading the grass clippings.

I'm trying some new garden techniques this year: chop and drop, where you cut down vegetation and leave it on the ground to decompose into the soil. This adds nutrients, helps to conserve water and improve the soil structure. It also saves countless trips to the local recycling tip - which is reducing my ecological footprint, too!

IMG_1943.JPG
Cardoons and globe artichokes, both in the thistle family, in their new home.

In the afternoon, we started working in the upper terrace in the kitchen garden. I had been busy chopping and dropping earlier in the week. We tidied a little more, removing any brambles, ivy, bindweed or bamboo, and laying the remaining vegetation along the edge of the bed.

Taking some some fine home-made compost from the compost bin mixed with some horticultural sand, we set out five little mounds and planted the cardoons and artichokes, before mulching with grass clippings. I'm not sure about the one on the far left, that might have lost its growing point.

On Monday, we tackle the hedge and get the chillis into some bigger pots.

We're also going to buy a wood-chipper 😎.

Sort:  

Should like you have a lovely selection on the go. I'll be heading out to tackle the lawns shortly and the flower be needs a little tidy.

Yes, we're enjoying having fun. We've already had some pickings from it. Your lawn is on a different level to mine!

I would have never imagined that so many veggies can be grown in our climate (eggplant??? really?) Your garden reads like a cooking wonderland for me (I have already some dishes planned with your harvest :-D)
I write this every time: I am envious of your garden
But nevertheless, I hope everything grows fine and the slugs move into another garden...

Well, the eggplant has fruited yet, so we shall see 😎. I am not sure what will be successful and what will not, it depends on the weather and so fat this year, it has been good, plenty of rain and plenty of sun. The food is a bonus, I enjoy playing in the garden!

This is a very nice garden! Here in the neighborhood where I live, we have to request permission to have a garden, and it has to follow certain guidelines before it is approved.

Is that to grow vegetables, or can you grow anything there?

Looks fantastic! Well done. Love the mushrooms. 💚

Thank you. The permaculture approach is very liberating - makes gardening much more like playing 😊.

Right? I think humans would be far better off if we were a lot more hands off!

Not sure I've understood your comment? I like how we just go out, decide where we want to put something, make a little bed for it and let it get on with what it's doing. The conventional way is digging, bare earth, rows ...

I think we are better off working in tune with nature than trying to manicure it into some monoculture orderly Earth-altering mess, is what I meant. Our labor intensive conventional ways are borked.

Ah, cool 😎.

Artichokes are good because they come back don't they @shanibeer ? We want to concentrate on vegetable plants that are hardy and perennial... well they'll still need some care.
I think that you certainly seem to have a lot of mushrooms on your lawn... it does feel a bit autumnal today around here...

I was surprised by the artichokes because I thought they needed sunny places with warm weather year round, like southern California, where they're sometimes landscaping, I've read!

Yes, one of the reasons I chose them is because they are big architectural plants, they grow to about three feet across and maybe five feet high. We may not have enough sun here, or a long enough growing season - they do very well in Mediterranean countries. But we'll see 😊

Yes, I hope so 😊 They die back and you have to cover them with straw against the frost. I think we may have planted them to close together. Perennial and hardy sounds like a good idea.

You just planted 0.07 tree(s)!


Thanks to @shanibeer

We have planted already 3714.00 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 22728.56
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63282.43
ETH 3083.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85