Come to the river

in #ecology7 years ago

'Come to the river', I hear.
So I go
out past loosestrife and nightshade
under the mackerel belly sky.
'Where?' I ask
when I get there. The rushes
tremble and hiss:
'Here.'
I wade in
up to my breastbone. 'Where now?'
and then I see. A metallic fuschia anomaly
caught in the side of the riverbank. Burst
inflatable foil. It is the number '2'.
Who are we
that doesn't consider this
in the merriment of our party? That allows
the detritus to wash up elsewhere
in some river vole's home or
anywhere as long as we don't have to think it.
I fold it up and apologise.
I am surprised
when the reeds graciously offer me
a gift of my choice, by way of thanks.
I wish for...
('Careful...' they say)
I wish for Love
to break everyone's heart again,
to flow like it used to
before foil balloons.
On my way back,
the branch of a tree tugs at my shoulder -
rains tiny red plums all upon me.
I have never tasted
such sweetness.

IMG_6043.JPG

Sort:  

Hi Red, Have you discovered #minnowsupport project yet? It's to help new folk get started and promote their posts. Here's a link that explains https://steemit.com/minnowsupportproject/@minnowsupport/minnow-support-project-problem-statement-vision-statement-mission-statement-and-plan-to-help-you-grow-from-minnow-to-whale-with It does seem to help with post recognision. Would love to see some of your artwork on here!xx

Congratulations @redkelders! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58733.26
ETH 2663.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44