Solar Eclipse in Brooklyn, NYC [Animated GIF]

in #eclipse7 years ago

Live GIF from the Eclipse!


We had some fun criss-crossing hands in New York at precisely 2:44PM this afternoon. It was primetime for this once-in-a-lifetime solar eclipse! The effect was pretty mesmerizing... each gap made a perfect little crescent reflecting the eclipse above us.

eclipse-bk-new.gif

IMG_5194.JPG

IMG_5195.JPG


follow-voronoi.gif

Sort:  

That's so fecking inventive!! I can't wait till the next one over Britain so I can try that!

Haha, it was a spur of the moment realization. We we're poking holes in paper and looking at it that way when we realized we could do the same thing with our hands! Definitely give it a shot :)

I will, it's been a while. I am sure there will be one due at some point. I have done the poor thing but just never thought of making those kind of shadows. Hats off you!

That is truly beautiful.

LOVE this!

Thanks @gardenlady! Hope you have a good view today :)

Awesome! ^ upped :)

Wow, it's so amazing! Some years ago we had partial solar eclipse, and I made a "hole-camera" of cardboard, projected the "crescent" sun on another paper.
In Hungary, total eclipse was in August, 1999, when I was pregnant with my son. I remember the day, when life stopped everywhere, because everyone went outside and gazed the sun across dark UV filtered glasses.

By the way: there is a great photochallenge by @brumest, tagged as #monomad. This week's theme is: shadows, in black and white (some colorsplash allowed) or monochrome. One entry post each day from Monday to Friday.

Great to know, I'll check it out :)

It was really wild, the light got darker and warmer toned all of a sudden. Cars were beeping at us and everyone left their offices to look outside. What a great experience. I'd bet that the total eclipse was absolutely surreal!

That is super cool guys! And a lot less trouble than they went to at Stewart Park in Ithaca for the same effect..Someone built a dome and did something to the top of it so the crescent shined down on a cardboard inside lol. Actually I have a video of it on my blog, the coolest part was the guy singing a song he wrote called Spaceship Earth in the gazebo though, made for a perfect atmosphere :)

the real eclipse is the eclipse of the Bitcoin.

Image

good fun^^

Such a wonderful experience caught on cam ^_^ Thanks for sharing

We had a great time enjoying the moment!

Well that's pretty cool! 🌙

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58188.83
ETH 2585.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40