Cheapest Way To Ship Shoes For eBay - With Pictures

in #ebay6 years ago (edited)

Cheap Ebay Shoes Shipping1.jpg

Cheap Shoe Shipping Hack - Ship Shoes On eBay For Only $6.65!

Today I want to share with any resellers the absolute cheapest way to ship shoes that weigh over 1lb, which is 98% of all shoes.

Some may say that this looks unprofessional and for those folks, I say continue doing what you do. For those that want to save some money on shipping, keep reading as the method I am about to share will save you at least $2 per pair of shoes without the original box.

This method will not work on all shoes. Extremely large pairs will not fit. Hightops will not fit as well. But for the majority of sneaker and dress shoes, this works like a charm.

Here is all you will need to ship shoes on eBay on the cheap:

Supplies to ship shoes for cheap.jpg

  • USPS Flat Rate LEGAL Envelope (free from USPS)
  • Tape
  • 2-4 Plastic Bags (free from the supermarket and other retail shops)

As you can see, shipping supplies are basically free, you will only need a little bit of tape.

Step 1: Put Your Shoes Into The Plastic Bags (I usually use two per shoe)

Cheapest way to ship shoes using USPS.jpg

Step 2: Place Shoes Into USPS Legal Flat Rate Envelope

Cheap shoe shipping by mail.jpg

Place the first one sole down.

save money shipping shoes on ebay.jpg

The other shoe gets inverted (the toes face opposite directions) and placed sole up.

Step 3: Close The Envelope, Seal, & Tape

How to ship shoes for less money.jpg

What to use to ship shoes for a few bucks.jpg

Easy way to ship shoes for cheap on ebay.jpg

Ensure that the envelope completely closes over itself as that is a USPS requirement. The first time closing the envelope might be a little struggle, but you will get used to it.

After I get the envelope sealed using the seal strip included on the envelope I reinforce it with my own tape. I place a large strip across the top and two little bits on each lower side. These envelopes weren't designed with shoes in mind so a little strengthening doesn't hurt.

Save Money Shipping Shoes On eBay!

Cheapest way to ship shoes.jpg

Using this shoe shipping method will cost about $2-3 less per pair of shoes. If the shoes weigh over 3 or 4 pounds, the savings really add up.

$2 or $3 might not seem like much, but the savings will accumulate the more you do this. If you are like me, saving money on shipping goes right into my pocket. So I don't mind that pocket having an extra $20 or $30 after 10 pairs of shoes have sold on eBay.

Also realize that you can use this method for anything else that fits! Often times I am shipping slim boxes that weigh over 1 lb using normal flat rate envelopes or these legal rate ones.

You can also save 50 cents if you ever use the small USPS flat rate boxes. All you have to do is put your item into the small box, then place the box into a regular flat rate envelope. It easily fits, is more protected, and costs 50 cents less!

Disclaimer: While I have never had a package rejected or returned to sender using this method I have had Postal Clerks complain about it. I now just drop these in the drop box to avoid any hassles.

I have never received negative feedback from a customer for doing this (or for anything, my feedback is 100% positive on eBay)

Sort:  

It does not matter how it Looks It just matters that it gets there............

That's how I operate. Recycled shipping materials for the win.

Ditto on this concept. You can't even begin to imagine the variety of things I've maneuvered into those legal envelopes. Sometimes I'll slip layers of cardboard inside as armor, or even a piece to the exterior under the shipping label as a small shield during the trip. Legal FR's are such a good underused resource. Knock on wood.

If you're out of first class packaging in a bind, invert the legal envelopes and make them normal mailers after taping them up well. Boo yaa.

If you also use the padded flat rate mailers and the item is barely sticking out, put another padded mailer on in the other direction and use the label/colored tape to camouflage the seam that shows from the slight extension.

I guess your customers take it that the price and product are more important than the distribution method. 😎

Well, they are buying used shoes to save money, soo... I guess so!

Then, I think you have the right distribution for your product. :-)

I used to use padded flat rate envelopes that I would get boxes full of shipped to me from USPS for free. They were pretty easy to use and shoes might fit in them as well. I once shipped a set of tire chains in them. I think it was more than 30 pounds for around $6! Not bad.

Yea, you can really only get shoes up to size 8.5-9 to fit in the padded flat rates. But when it does work, it is good. Still, the legal flat rate envelopes are cheaper than the padded.

Beyond those us sizes, use the shoe boxes that you can order from the USPS that go as prority mail.(you have to order them.)

I don't currently bother with clothing/shoes since the return rates are higher(just more ways for a customer to not like the product) and I prefer to sell hard goods or electronics.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67651.30
ETH 3269.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64