How I made 10000 dollars for filming 2 multiplications

Let's go back in time to year 2006.



Youtube was the new hype and a lot of startups tried to follow their example. Metacafe.com (ranked as 3rd largest video site in October 2006) made a bold move saying they would pay 5$ per 1000 views for every original video posted on their website. It was valid for any video that was viewed a minimum of 20,000 times and had a Video rank of 3 or higher.

I thought to myself: Wow, 5 $ every 1000 views. Easy money to make here.

Then I made a few videos, which were complete failures in terms of views. Then my future wife had an idea. She remembered a mathematical trick she saw when she was 8 year old at school in South-East China. A way to resolve multiplication in a graphical manner.

I took the old camera my aunt had won somewhere and started filming my future wife doing multiplications on my desk. After 3 tries, I edited it with crappy Windows movie maker. The sound was so horrible that I turned it off. Video quality was bad even for 2006. But, but , but it was a really original video, there was no equivalent at the time on internet and that's why it worked so well.

You can still see the video here (the pay per view program has stopped in 2012, I will not win money on this): Graphical multiplication

Views raised slowly for the first month then kind of exponentially.
After 4 months, we had 1.6 millions views=8000 dollars. In the end, we managed 2.3 millions views (10K+ dollars) before the pay per view program closed. We used the money to pay for the education of my wife, buy some furnitures and travel 2 months in China (photo below: Me and my wife at a Tibetan temple).



About the graphical multiplication resolution method, it seems to be related to Lattice multiplication. We still don't know who invented it.

The "easy money" feeling I had for Metacafe ten years ago, I have it for Steem now. My money sixth sense is tingling. Be sure to join the party at the beginning.

Feel free to ask questions, I will be happy to answer.

Sort:  

Great article. Thanks for sharing it with me. :) Must have been amazing to earn so much off one vid back then..

Yeah, I think everyone was surprised. That day I understood how powerful internet can be, as it gives you a worldwide audience instantly.

not bad, but follow this guide if you want to achieve true riches.
https://steemit.com/steemit/@ma3/how-i-made-0-01-cents-in-one-day

Haha nice! It can work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94