[CR] Easy Mini Art Contest #4

in #easyminibird6 years ago

Hi Steemians,

I saw a drawing contest by @jacinta.sevilla. I love the theme which is about birds and I started drawing as I don't want to miss the deadline. The submission of entries luckily was extended please read more about the details here

For my entry I chose to draw a bluejay and here is the finished drawing.
image

Process:

  1. Rough sketch
    image
    This is how I want the bird to be positioned and the colors roughly identified. At this phase I already know what brush to use, I chose the brush that leaves a feather like impression.

  2. Filling in some bold colors
    image
    After testing the color values in step 1, time to increase the values while checking if they work well together. I love the colors especially the blue ones but I am having issues handling the boldness of black it tends to overpower the rest. At this stage I already put the background color so I can make adjustments on the light, shadow and values if need be.

  3. Adding details and fine tuning.
    image
    I decided I cover the black area on the neck with lighter colors because the black is really stealing the focus. Lastly I added the green branch and enhanced the depth by adding light and shadow in the background.

Thank you for dropping by
@hedidylan

Sort:  

A Mini Art\Desing
GALAXY STAR.png

Congratulations @hedidylan! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 50 comments. Your next target is to reach 100 comments.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Oh, this is so beautiful! 💙 The colors you chose are perfect, the shading is great, and the way you painted the features is absolutely fabulous! This is truly a wonderful piece! Love it! 😊

Thank you I love everything you said. I'm glad you love it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62837.64
ETH 2542.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65