Preparing for the Earthship Build - Milling Lumber

in #earthship6 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: Preparing for the Earthship Build - Milling Lumber


Since the Steem blockchain became a centralized, top-down dominated place, where control and censorship thrive, I have decided to move my content. Don't worry, though, all my posts and up and doing well on the decentralized Hive blockchain. Come and check it out!

Sort:  

How long will you be at this? I need a crash course in DIY milling and would be happy to lend a hand for few days! :) Plus I'm dying to visit Vancouver Island!

Lovejoy, if you want a traveling buddy for this one, I’d love to check this project out.

Oh yeah, quite possibly... the time window for this is a bit unclear to me at the moment but let's talk!

If you're interested in coming to visit or better volunteer for a while, please contact [email protected] and visit http://thedoighouse.com/ Looking forward to getting to know you!

If you're interested in coming to visit or better volunteer for a while, please contact [email protected] and visit http://thedoighouse.com/ Looking forward to getting to know you!

If you're interested in coming to visit or better volunteer for a while, please contact [email protected] and visit http://thedoighouse.com/ Looking forward to getting to know you!

Hey, please do come! I'll be here till the end of August, but the Earthship build will go on. For details on visiting / volunteering please check out the Doighouse build pages I linked in my intro post.

Awesome, thanks for the info!

Is this in Mexico or Canada? I might be swinging through Mexico in the later part of this year....

This is Vancouver Island. I'd love to meet you when you come to Mexico, but I'm not sure if I am gonna be there myself. I'm leaving Canada at the start of September and want to ride my bicycle down the coast. Planing to be in LA by late November.

I went from Seattle to San Fran in about 10 days or so, did cheat with the odd ride here and there, but getting to Northern California is surprisingly easy and gorgeous. You'll have plenty of time for exploration with that timeline.

Oh Jeez, we're doing Belize up to Canada, we will for sure meet in the middle!

Awesome! Let's coordinate and meet up somewhere!

If you're interested in coming to visit or better volunteer for a while, please contact [email protected] and visit http://thedoighouse.com/ Looking forward to getting to know you!

Damned building regs are such a pain, what to do!? Glad ur keeping busy on other work..’looks like hard graft dealing with all that lumbar.. luckily u got some power tools! Sending u luck and best wishes for a speedy building approval!

Thanks! I know, dealing with the gov't is so frustrating: They are all so friendly and polite, it almost looks like they're helping you. Till you realize their organization is what's holding you back! What an irony.

Woah! I'll be in Nanaimo in a couple weeks! Would love to have a peek, but for now, so delighted to be able to do so from here! Hope the permits come through, Nanaimo doesn't seem as 'on it' as other districts, but I have a feeling they will come around and (hopefully) allow a precedent to be made. Keeping fingers crossed for you guys this summer.

You're coming to Nanaimo? Why don't you swing by and take a look? Would be excited to meet you!

The precedent is exactly what this project is about: to be the first code abiding Earthship in BC.

If you're interested in coming to visit or better volunteer for a while, please contact [email protected] and visit http://thedoighouse.com/ Looking forward to getting to know you!

Cool, sent her a message. Sadly will be just briefly passing through, but maybe I can come for a night, if she is down.

This is really cool. I love the Earthship concept. My copy of the book is well worn. That sawmill is an impressive machine. Cutting lumber is very satisfying. It takes a lot of focus to do a good job. Looking forward to seeing more from you.

That is a cool mill! What is your building plans?
We're building a 16x32 timber-framed cabin, hoping to have it done by the end of July! It's definitely hard work but ever so rewarding!

This is amazing. We do alot of firewood cutting, but we have never milled our own. What an adventure!


Global Homestead Collective

Come join us on discord! https://discord.gg/KCYH4JX

CONGRATULATIONS!!
Your post is featured in my Monday Prepprs' Curation Day- Weekly Edition 16 post!!!

The three featured authors will receive the proceeds/earnings from the post.

What a bummer about the permits... keep convincing these guys an earthship is structurally sound. This has to happen!!!

Very nice mill and I'm sure it does take quite a getting used to it.

On to looki mg at the outdoor kitchen post. Thanks for sharing

Oh, they seem to be pretty convinced about the Earthship part. It's another stupid bureaucratic problem that's causing the hang-up at the moment.

That first part is good news! At least there's that.

I love seeing the progress - yeah permits are a pain, so hard to get away from them up here. After I build my primary permitted structure i'll be building a few micro earth homes / greenhouses - under 100 sq ft requires no permit where I am. Looking forward to the permit coming through for you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66682.62
ETH 3447.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73