When it is six degrees below zero fahrenheit (-21 C) what do you do?

in #eaglefriday5 years ago

It was cold yesterday, only about 4 degrees, So we decided we would stay home and leave the shopping until the next day, even though we were low on a few items. I did get some nice squirrely pictures though yesterday.

So today, it was we need to head out and I'm tired of sitting around lets go do something who cares if it is cold or not, it is going to be cold, and we need to do some shopping anyways. So I started the car and let it idle till it was nice and warm. It was a rough start, a low goaning start to the car. I was not sure what the temperature was, but it was slightly colder than t-shirt weather, since I was just going to start the car I did not throw a jacket on or anything, just slipped into the shoes, grab the keys and start the car. It did not feel real super cold, but I knew it was as my nose suddenly felt really dry when I took a breath of air.

But the car started, and I went back inside to warm up, and have a little bit more coffee. After about 20 minutes I figured the car was warm enough so we get ready to head out, cameras check, phone check, wallet check, all good set to go. So I get comfortable behind the steering wheel, then notice the temperature -6F (-21C). Yep it was cold. Not a cloud left in the sky from the morning fog.

We stopped by our usual Eagle Haunt and got some very nice pictures, (they are on my other page, well a couple of them will be). There was a lot of Eagles roosting, it was like they did not want to brave the frigid air. So after this stop we went out for a part way drive down Funny River Road. I am glad we did. Some nice wintery shots my wife @shasta got along the drive, but here is what you are here for.

We got lucky!!! Very Lucky!!!! I am glad we decided to not go yesterday, (even though we needed to), and went out today. Sometime my wife and I just get those feelings about a day and a drive. Its a little bit of a shady spot, but I did not shrink the photo's as much as I usually do so the Big Picture links will be a bit bigger than normal from me.

Here he is Mr Majestic coming in for a landing, such grace and poise, touch down point sighted in and preparations underway to land.

064 coming in.jpg
Big Picture

Air brakes deployed, tail feathers up, all looks good.

065 air brakes depolyed.jpg
Big Picture

Boom, one point landing, how do you like that Mr. Camera man, no Eagle Follies for your lens. He seems to be saying as he looks right at me.

066 boom one point landing.jpg
Big Picture

Yeah, I'm Bad, so so bad, them Crows and Ravens got nothing on me dude. I'm Bad. Look at me strut my stuff.

067 yeah im bad.jpg
Big Picture

I got very Lucky as I said, sometimes six degrees below zero is not such a bad time to be out and about the streets for a drive in a nice cozy warm automobile. @keithboone has a tag for Eagles, called #eaglefriday, but he does not care what day you post. If you like Eagle Pictures take a look at that tag, there are some pretty awesome shots people from all over the world and the USA have displayed in the tag.

Check-in every now and then at @steemUSA, they may have a new Monday Photo or Thursday thought post.


Check @photocircle for their latest "The Best of Photocircle Contributors" who knows one day you may see me listed there.

Sort:  

Great shots! I found you just above me over at the minnow power-up league. Thought I'd stop by and say hello to a fellow minnow :)

It's a nice place to see how you are doing progress wise. I am somewhat slow at progressing, but I will get there slow and steady. Have you visited Ashers League of Excellence yet? He provides a tracking service on comments post and a few other things along with engagement rewards for the to 10 and then a small stipend for the next ten who do not self vote for the week. A pretty nice service, I haven't been on the curation list in some time, due to moving and delegating SP here and there. Here is a link to last Sundays report, real simple to join just say so in the commetns and he will add you and track numbers for you - https://steemit.com/engagement/@abh12345/the-curation-and-engagement-leagues-2019-steem-prizes-and-steem-bounty-available

Thanks for the tip. I hadn't heard of Ashers League of Excellence. I'll check it out.

Thanks for the referral buddy!

Not a problem, I like the tracking, knowing where and what I have done, I thought they might like it also since they use the minnow league to track progress.

Wow those are some very awesome shots @bashadow!!
Very cool! down right cold! Those eagles were sure huge!

I am very happy with how they came out. Another good drive day.

Amazing! Those are great shots of the eagle landing on the road! And he totally sticks the landing on one foot... wow! Resteemed :)

BTW, next week I'm opening this challenge up to more birds - not just eagles, although eagles are more than welcome. I think it will be called #FeatheredFriday.

I hope you will continue posting and now you can include Hawks and vultures and any kind with bird - show me budgies and you might get laughed at though ;)

We have a, I think it is called a jack daw not sure, but it likes to visit every now and then, of course plenty of crows and ravens, not sure about budgies, I may have to go to the Homer Pet store to get a picture of one of them.LoL. The finch's and the chicadees will be here in a couple more months. along with the spring robins, so yeah, Feathered Fridays, it just may take flight. ;-}

Those are some great shots! Very cool day to be out but looks like it was worth it!

Yes a bit chilly, but it was pretty worth the cold.

Hi @bashadow!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.151 which ranks you at #3100 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 1 places in the last three days (old rank 3099).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 256 contributions, your post is ranked at #118.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Great Photos, absolutely LOVE the Birds of Prey...!

Here is a shot of a Hawk in FLA @ My home that almost landed on my shoulder when i was up cleaning rain gutters.

Posted using Partiko Android

Fast phone/camera hands, I would have missed the shot. Nice looking bird though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98