QI

in #dystopia7 years ago (edited)

Warning! All characters, events and technology in this story are purely fictional. Any resemblance to actual persons, events and technology is purely coincidental and the product of your construal.

Another typical day started with the loud bell, waking up everyone with cold rays of rising sun exuding from the corners of the not-so-good isolated wooden window frames. Warmth of the cover in my bed didn’t let me get up easily. Determined to get on my feet, I was counting the minutes: 3 minutes more, 2 minutes more, last 1 minute... Before the doors closed, I changed into my required uniform and rushed outside to the next building where classrooms were cold like a freezer to enable the teaching in cold blood. I wasn’t made up for this weather, all cells in my body were crying, not helping to keep my mind together.

Dr. Tenib welcomed every student graciously as usual. This is his last week with us; he was explaining how we will continue our studies and be successful in the future not only because of our scale or in other words inheritable traits, but in fact because of our hard work and supporting each other. We heard rumours; him demonstrating against our class separation, but never could have we known the real issue between him and the school.

I felt my loneliness hanging in front of me again, a cloud of long distance memories. It has been a year away from my sunny country. I will turn 13 next month hanging on to my memories of my last birthday at home: my mother sewing gloves for me, knowing that I need special ones, which isn't easy to find in the cold country.

None of my friends could make it here; we were destined to live only among people like ourselves in our country who have four fingered-hands. All the scores declared our mental worth ranking fixed on a specific scale based on our heredity. Dr. Tenib was the one who brought me to this school in the cold country, encouraging me for a possible better future. Now my only connection leaving, I felt my reality sliding away.

- This is your best results, congratulations!

I was pulled back into reality with the pieces of papers on my desk, surprised looking at the red star near my scores of verbal and quantitative reasoning tests. My score was the highest in the class with 234 QI score.

It was a coincidence my favourite teacher leaving the school and my life developing into a normal life like others in this country. As he handed our scores, there was also a certificate for me:

“We hereby announce that you are exempted from the sterilisation procedure and therefore have the full right to live in this country without any limitation.

The Immigration and Nationality Office”

What’s your QI score?
Image Source

Sort:  

Hi @wymark
Very well, compose photo shots.
Like it.
100% Upvoted
Thanks for participating in my experiment 4 - on Curating.
https://steemit.com/experiment/@bullionstackers/experiment-4-junior-steemians-please-read-are-you-ready-to-be-upvoted-first-in-steemit

Congratulations @wymark! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58080.30
ETH 3102.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40