You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dystopia often begins with the words "For the betterment of mankind"...

in #dystopia6 years ago

Nicely stated. I hear the "conspiracy theorist" label from time to time when discussing or presenting objectively demonstrable facts and have learned to shut it down hard and fast. In my line of work I have to be very, very careful not to present speculation as fact. So when such a phrase is dropped, be it in reference to myself or others in the conversation, I demand evidence or proof immediately of what was non-factual or mere speculation. And I don't let go, I don't let people slander others or make spurious claims because they think they know better. I hound them for any factual argument that can support the use of the term "conspiracy theory". If they can't deliver, I ask why they would make such statements when they have no information with which to back it up. Shame is, unfortunately, a useful teaching device at times. For the last few years I have gotten very good at this, it isn't hard, but it does take a bit of pluck not to be intimidated by an Appeal to the Stone, especially when dropped in front of an audience.

Sort:  

Nice. You are without a doubt the type of Educator that the world sorely needs many more of.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97