Dtube Snap // My First Experience At A Self Serve Bar

in #dtubesnap6 years ago


Hi Friends!

It is one of my best friend's birthday's today and so to kick off the celebrations, we stopped by a new bar in town. Have you guys ever seen a self serve bar? I certainly hadn't and was super curious to check it out. It's honestly a pretty brilliant business model.

They don't serve food (there is a pizza spot next door that delivers and they bring in food trucks) - but they are pretty busy and only need to staff 1-2 people to run the entire place.

How does it work?



Basically you check in with them when you first get there to show your ID and they give you a wristband. They have two walls full of beer, cider and wine options you can choose from. There is a display screen above each one with tons of information including the name, type, ABV, price per ounce, and photo of the bottle.

They keep it all pretty safe because it will only let you pour one serving size at a time - and then after you've reached a certain amount of ounces (tracked by the wristband), then you need to check back in with the employee so they can activate more for you.

Buying drinks for friends is super easy too. You just walk up with them and waive your wristband to pay for their drink.

Overall, I thought this was a super interesting idea and they did a great job of crafting a cool vibe in the place. I'm sure it was expensive to build the place out - but now they have a low overhead, high margin business.

Do They Have These In Your Area?



I'd be super curious to hear if any of you have experienced a place like this before. I hope you enjoyed watching my video montage of the experience!

Xo, Lea

21D684CB-CA72-4207-9485-43D5D4994863.gif

Meet me at SteemFest 2018 in Kraków

austin.png


More of my Steemy Adventures


The Steem Sister Show Has a New Page!
The Steem Monster Show with @littlescribe and @coruscate
Watch My Talk at the Steem Creators Conference
Support The October Minnow of the Month - @lifesacircus
Learn More About Mene 24k Gold Investment Jewelry

▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

That is the future: self serve business.

This comment has received a 54.55 % upvote from @sharkbank thanks to: @discernente.

You got a 25.83% upvote from @oceanwhale courtesy of @discernente! Earn 100% earning payout by delegating SP to @oceanwhale. Visit www.OceanWhaleBot.com for details!

Your Barista skillz had to be an advantage here:)

hahah you know it! Slingin' drinks is always fun. ;)

Is the beer cheaper than on other bars or Same price?

Posted using Partiko Android

It was pretty reasonably priced actually! I would say that it was a little cheaper. You also don't need to tip as much because no one is waiting on you - so that can save a considerable amount of money. At least in the States where we have a big tipping culture.

Robots will replace US all! O.o

Posted using Partiko Android

Robots will take away the jobs humans hate to do.

We're creating new jobs that more suitable for humans that makes them work because them love that kind of work.

Also STEEMing is one of the future jobs that will replace many jobs......

You did not smell my irony here ;)

Next step paying with bitcoin /dash/ steem at this place. :D

Posted using Partiko Android

Sorry man I'm not good at commenting. lol

Dtube content engagement is so low and thinking few ways to empower engagement here.

I'm happy to see you guys engaging here :)

I am content With the development of dtube.

Posted using Partiko Android

I don't see many visitors. Are you the only people there?

Oh we got there super early right when they opened. It was totally packed by the time we left. :)

Yeah, I've never heard of that but I would be so messed up if it were me there. lol

Thank you for sharing did you get VIP treatment lol 👍

This is a pretty genius idea. I haven't seen one down here but I'm sure its on its way.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60678.52
ETH 2339.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48