Sarawak National Park | Smelling The Giant Flower | Vlog #43

in #dtubedaily6 years ago (edited)


Hey beautiful beings!

Upon stumbling into my hostel late last night the owner recommended I go and check out the rare Rafflesia flower in Sarawak’s National Park.

The flower buds’ maturation period is 8 - 9 months and a fully bloomed flower can stand at 50 - 80 cms in diameter. The flower produces a rotting meat like smell that attracts carrion flies as pollinators and only live for 6 - 7 days!

Being that today was day 5 I decided to make the 2 hour bus journey out to the park.

I made a few new friends along the way and I am so grateful for all the amazing opportunities that present when I am travelling!

I hope you enjoy this video. 💛

Biggest love to you | neeQi 🌺


Music: http://audionautix.com/


Screen Shot 2018-02-09 at 9.04.14 am.png
120CFB9B-8C9B-4948-B9DC-F398DF8C6C2D.jpeg


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable mentions list in today's Travel Digest #188

Thank you!!

Whoa!!! What was that crazy insect at 2:25?!?

It's a spider! Completely harmless and can come with red or yellow backs. I love the big antenna things it's got going on. 😁

Man, crazy looking flowers lol Hope your trip is going well!!

They really are. Really big and stiff, with a super funky smell and just the most insane growing conditions.
And the trip has been amazing so far, thank you! 💗

wow...@neeqi your vedio make me so so.happy Because of you today i see many nice place, flowers and many things..Thanks you dear...i just love your work..@neeqi take care your all time
Thanks again for sharing..this beautifull moment with us..

I’m really glad that I could share this with you Afrin and that you enjoy seeing my travels. Thank you for always supporting me. 💞

welcome.my Dear lovely friend...take care…Biggest love for you♥♥♥♥♥

Damn! So fun! Brings back memories of the spontaneous friendships that get formed along the way while traveling with complete random strangers.

You make so many friends along the way, it’s always great. 😁 The goodbyes to do get hard sometimes but the memories are always worth it!

So many critters!!! Looking forward to seeing all of these fun things with you :D

Can't wait till you get here!! So many awesome things to explore.

Awesome video @neeqi. So great to see other places, insects, and plants that for some of us, we may never see! Thank you for creating and sharing...you are the best.

Thank you for your endless support @captainbob! I know I have expressed this but it really does mean a lot to me. I'm feeling more excited and confident with content creating and just putting myself out there and sharing. It's amazing how much it helps with personal development. 💜

I went mushroom hunting yesterday (it's spring here) - didn't find any. Did the guide point out any mushrooms in the forest?

Ah! I've never properly been mushroom hunting because I've never been in the right climate (one of the reasons I love California, so many mushrooms!) We did see a few fungi but nothing amazing. It was about noon by the time we arrived and the climate had shifted a lot. The guide said the best time to be there to see the most fauna and flora is around 7 - 8 am.

That rotten meat flower almost looks like a mushroom, at least it's texture...

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=neeqi
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=vv8rffj3


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Wow, I remember reading about this flower in an encyclopedia when I was a child. And so it really smells...
Nature is amazing!

I'm so happy to see you enjoying your time travelling and meeting new people! Best of luck to you and wishing you many more adventures to come! ❤️

Thank you! Nature really is amazing. I was super surprised by the smell and just how complex it is for this rare flower to grow. It's nice to be in this travel space again, it has really helped me move through some emotionally layers. 💗

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58015.02
ETH 2381.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42