Vlog 17: My weekend, a few announcements and thoughts on bots

in #dtubedaily6 years ago (edited)


In this Vlog I discuss my weekend, give a few announcements and talk a little bit about what I think of bots after experimenting with them for a week... Assessment bots are not for me.

My weekend went pretty great, I didn't get as much reading done as I was hoping, but its reading for pleasure anyways so as long as I was relaxing its all good. I've found using facebook makes me less than happy so the last month or so I havn't been using facebook hardly at all. I've been spending most of my internet time on steemit, dtube and dsound but overall have reduced the amount of time spent on social media. I have increased my time doing creative tasks, but also want to unwind and relax a little bit. Recently i've taken my dreamcast out of the closet and have been playing some games. I spent about three hours this weekend playing Grandia II, a RPG for dreamcast. Its pretty much a final fantasy ripoff but its still a lot of fun. We also got sonic adventure as I lost that game when I was a kid. The action levels are awesome but I forgot how much time it takes to get from action stage to action stage, I'll probably be looking at a walk through as I don't have as much time to wonder around like I did when i was a kid. d

Announcements!!!!

Resteee Dsound Mondays.... Yep that's today so if you want a chance at getting your song resteemed post a link below, only instrumentals uploading this weekend are eligible, I will be making a short podcast tonight to feature the resteemed songs so be ok with me using a short clip.

dtubeisbetterthan:

I am starting a weekly challenge, this week why is dtube better than eating a cookie, upload a dtube video explaining why dtube is better than eating a cookie, tag it dtubeisbetterthan and drop the link in the post linked right below.

https://steemit.com/dtubeisbetterthan/@illuminationst8/5qrlf0oo

also if you wanna like the post and follow me that would be swell.

On bots:

I experimented with some bots last week and discovered a few things that makes me meh about using bots. First off I didn't find any bots in particular that were profitable to use, possibly if I had used steem instead of SBD they would have been profitable, but that wasn't really why I was using them anyways. The main idea behind bots for me at least was to help build momentum on posts. I found that the posts initially would do a bit better but also seemed to attract more spam and less genuine followers. Not really what I am looking for. The only bot I really recommend is treeplanter, the return is fairly good, but more importantly they are planting trees which is good for the earth. It does take treeplanter up to two days for the upvote but they are still a small project. My biggest problem with bots is that it sidesteps the idea of promoting posts and burning steem to do it. This is one of the reasons someone would want to buy steem and something that would drive the price of steem up, because the bots ultimately just increase the amount of steem for the bot owner and bot user they aren't benefiting the ecosystem the same way promoting a post and voiding out steem. I have some idea's on ways to fix this that I'll start working on now, but I'm gonna have to dust off my coding chops a bit to make it happen. Anyways I decided for the most part as tempting as using bots is that it isn't for me.

Thanks everyone for watching, I appreciate all of my followers but especially the ones that make it to the end of my videos! I couldn't do this without you!

~Noah


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I love your background music man!

Thanks! Its often something of my own creation, in this case it’s just a preset from my prophet rev2

Here is another is another for Resteem Monday: https://dsound.audio/#!/@to7/20180305t204437743z-spooky-groove

Bots are a double edged sword, they do help in getting you a little more attention but as you said, the people it attracts are not into your content all that much. I've use bots also and have had decent results from using them but... I've already grown tired of using them, lol.

Yep totally my experience

Music is life, music is message, music is an informative/ entertaining media to curb boredsome.music is healing it is can fix anything!.
Thanks for sharing an entertaining music.
Need more of it from you

Loading...

Thanks what did you like about it?

Thanks what do you think I did well on?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67200.37
ETH 3331.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77