Hiking towards Caisteal Abhail

in #dtubedaily6 years ago (edited)


I've been inspired by two YouTubers' videos to get into the hills and see some of the spectacular scenery that Arran has to offer. It's right outside my front door and it's crazy for me not to have seen much of it.

I've had my eye on the Caisteal Abhail loop since I drove past it after the archery day we had a couple of weeks ago and I persuaded my daughter to come with me. The scenery once you get to the returning point of the loop is astounding. I'd never been quite that close to Witches Step.

We had a great walk, cut short by my daughter's new boots rubbing her heels. We didn't talk about anything important; only small topics like God, spirituality and Israel and Palestine, you know, light topics for a hike.

I'm hoping to get back to this location quite soon and complete the walk, and many others too. I've ordered a tent and sleeping mats for us both and am excited to get into the hills and make more content. It's interesting that it's content creation and creators that have inspired me to get into the hills rather than the other way round, but no matter - as long as I'm getting out there!

Music: I'm Thinking about You - Windshield from Epidemic Sound


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Very nice Cams - not done this in the 10+ years you've been there eh? What a great water slide and the boggy-doggies are funny being carried over the fence - love that bit. Great day out with not-so-wee F :D

Man that looked like a great place. I love that sort of landscape. Nice camera shots you got in there too. There is something about being out in nature and even better when it's with family. That water slide is definitely worth a go.

Thanks Justin. Yeah, it is a great place and I'm planning so see more of it over the holidays. I'm super pleased that my daughter enjoys it too. This time last year she just wasn't that interested.

Thanks for commenting!

That 'natural water slide' looks crazy. Here in Norfolk, England we dont get anything like this. It's so flat and field after field here haha. I'm jealous, would love to be able to walk places like this!!!

Ah, but you have 'bootiful' Bernard Matthew's sausages, right? We don't have that. Just cheese.

Seriously though, I've been here over 10 years and have only ever gone up one mountain. That seems like such a waste when hikers travel from all over to visit Arran. It's time that was sorted out!

Thanks for commenting!

Congratulations @camuel! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @camuel! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97