You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: YES, I’M STILL ALIVE! | dreamvlog #38 [DTubeDaily]

in #dtubedaily6 years ago

you bring up many interesting points. i think ill focus on the future of steemit subject matter. for me the question becomes.. how many people need to be active to support the overall ecosystem? I am not sure if i see a skew toward creators as a bad thing. i may be strange but i like the intimacy of the platform in general. i get everyone looks toward growth as a measure...but i see it slightly more selfishly i guess. i dont want every monkey from youtube here. i am perhaps a brat...i would probs leave if steemit became huge and everyone was here, i dont know that for sure. it is true i am on facebook but barely use it

i just love steemit because it is small and full of creators is what i guess im saying. I feel humanity works better small. 10 people agree better than a 100, 1000, a million. more people means more bullshit to me. i like the punk style creator reality of steemit.
i go back to my first question though... because sustainable viability is the real question for me. How many active folks need to be here? How much investment needs to be here? What is the magic membership number that allows for the circles within circles that allows steemit to survive perpetually? That magic number is the stat i care about finding out... it is a more important idea or number than next months new membership stats.
i am cool with being surrounded by a world of creators. Steemit has been a tool to revitalize my creative side. If it closed shop tomorrow i would only be selfishly disappointed...but i would mostly just feel grateful of all the months of creating and meeting other creators in a close knit environment........ i am not here for money, it is a bonus to being here. so i guess that shifts my overall feeling about the whole platform and what it needs or what goals it should strive toward.

thanks for you post and space to contemplate

Sort:  

I absolutely agree with you about the family feeling in this community and that I also don't want all those crazy YouTube guys here and those bullshit comments and content. People who have been following me from be very beginning know that these are the actual reasons why I signed up here at all as I have never been a social media guy. For me social media was dead already!
What is the magical number of members? That is a very interesting question and one that I have never heard before as everybody was always just talking about growth, growth and growth. Typical for a capitalism world I would say.
As long as you don't care about money I believe there is a number like this but as we come back to the actual idea of this platform of getting rewards for content which means earning money, said in a more dry way, I doubt that it will work without permanent growth.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62948.49
ETH 2583.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74