Steemit Open Mic Week 126 – Rag-Doll (Original)

in #dtube5 years ago


I tried to finish this for last week, but – a family emergency necessitated that I drop everything and fly South to be with my critically ill brother, Saul. (Coincidentally, I'd gotten confused about which week it was, so I happen to have said both 125 and 126 in my intro. I hope this'll be acceptable and still qualify.)

As I hurriedly packed before my last-minute flight, peripherally, I hoped I'd find time while here to finish putting this video together and submit before this week's deadline. However, we've been at Stanford Hospital for at least 12 hours each day. Both my head and heart have been entirely consumed as we painstakingly make our way through these hours, celebrating every small step forward as a big victory.

Though it took effort to remember and draw myself away long enough to pull this together, I finally made myself take a break to do so – just under the wire. I then returned to Saul's bedside to play him this song as his evening lullaby. I've been playing for him daily, hoping he can feel the love I'm beaming him with. Tonight he kept raising his eyebrows as I sang – that was enough for me to believe that he heard and appreciated it.

I wrote this song for myself, really – very much trying to perk myself up a bit. Yet the lyrics have felt oddly apropos when sung to my brother; his body is working so very hard to pull itself back together.

It may take months, but...I have to believe he'll be whole again.

As always, thank you for listening.
xo, Zippy


youtube mirror, for posterity


tied together with delicate string
patchwork fixes holding you in
tattered and worn – too many times torn
growing weaker with each unraveling

little rag-doll with tired eyes
long face and lonely smile
little rag-doll

your undoing feels like a drawn-out death
the slow break-down of every thread
the first little tear – was easily repaired
but the hundredth was so much harder to mend

little rag-doll with lifeless limbs
your heavy head is just too much to lift
little rag-doll

your tender heart is such a fragile thing
so timid and weary of breaking
too often crushed – it no longer trusts
the wisdom of its own steady beating

little rag-doll, I know you feel
like you're too far gone to fix
like your wounds will never heal
and your life is valueless

but you're so much tougher than you know
with the strength of a warrior
and your beautiful, threadbare soul
is so worth fighting for

so find your needle and filament
and sew yourself together again
with every stitch – remember this;
these are the marks of a heroine
yes – these are your battle scars, little heroine
...please don't forget; that's who you really are
...so much more than a little rag-doll

...please remember who you are
...remember...who...you are.


ps – please send prayers for my brother – he's currently stable, but still very, very sick.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I am sorry to hear about your brother. I wish him a speedy recovery and I hope that you and your family will find strength everyday to be besides him when he needs you most. I'm sure he hears you when you sing to him and it helps him heal.

Your song is very nice. It's such a pleasure to listen to it (I did already twice). You have a beautiful delicate voice and I like that singing comes so naturally to you. And you are a great poet too! Your lyrics are powerful.

Thank you for sharing! Stay strong and take care. I'm sure all will be good :)

I appreciate your kind words — so glad you enjoyed it. 💜 On my way back to the hospital now, with high hopes that he’s made progress overnight. 🙏🏼

a good song. It moved me a lot, especially because of your brother's experience. I have a relative in a hospital situation and I identify with your words.

Both my head and heart have been entirely consumed as we painstakingly make our way through these hours

we have to trust that everything will improve, our spirits should be the support for our relatives. I wish you success with your song this week. and the quick recovery of your brother... Well done

This post was nominated by a @curie curator to be featured in an upcoming Author Showcase that will be posted in about 12 hours on the @curie blog.

NOTE: If you would like us to NOT feature your post in the Author Showcase please reply, or DM me on Discord as soon as possible. Any photos or quoted text from your post that we feature will be properly attributed to you as the author.

  • If you would like to provide a brief statement about your posting, your life or anything else to be included in the article, you can do so in reply here or look me up on Discord chat (@ Zoe Anavid#9686). This personal addition to my article can be of great value.

You can check out a previous Author Showcase I wrote to get an idea of what we are doing with these posts.

Thanks for your time and for creating great content.

Zoe (@curie curator)

I hope your brother will be perfectly fine soon fast.

Anyways, you have a soft and tender voice.
I like the blending you did, awesome!

I wish you more power in your life's journey.

By the way, I like the drawing of yourself in your Dtube photo.

So beautiful, Zippy <3 Sending you and yours much love <3

Hi zipporah,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you, @curie! It’s been a while; nice to see you again. ⭐️💜⭐️

I'm sorry to hear about your brother, wishing him fast recovery.
Your song is beautiful, your voice as well. I love the video, putting more than one window on the screen was an excellent idea. I love the lyrics, wonderful! Well done!

Great song sang with great passion and love. Your emotions said it all and am glad the family emergency is over now. I really enjoyed every tune in there. Great work and keep it up

Posted using Partiko Android

This publication is very impressive because it talks about your personal life and how you face situations every day, I like the way you describe the song Like a rag doll because in difficult situations you have tired of mending what seems destroyed , your inspiration, the strength with which you can face the difficult moments and especially when you focus on remembering who you are despite the adversities is a sample of courageous person, what you describe as a small heroine (and it is not really small ).
Some time ago I found myself in the same situation with seriously ill family members but in Christ I was able to find the strength to face it even though I thought I could not face this situation, I hope you continue with your head held high that you have a lot of strength and courage from up Greetings A big hug!

Hi, @zipporah!

You just got a 0.4% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56924.47
ETH 3086.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41