You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: YouTube VS DTube

in #dtube7 years ago

I love the idea of Dtube and I would love to start using it. Having a completely decentralized video platform that pays well and cannot get demonetized or censored is great. I would love to upload all of my current guitar covers on Steemit using the Dtube player. However, I have a couple of problems with it, that ultimately make it unusable for me. The major problem is that since it is completely decentralized, it relies on users to seed in order for people to watch the video. Since I'm just starting out, I'm literally the only seeder (which I cant leave on to seed 24/7), which makes videos basically unplayable constantly buffering, certainly not playable in full source quality. Also, the Dtube player doesn't embed in the Steemit post, but rather takes you offsite, but this is more just a nuisance rather than a deal breaker. But as a result of the first problem, I'll continue to use YouTube and just post the link in my Steemit posts for now.

Sort:  

I think while there are real inconveniences with using a new site with a lot of growing pains to work through, it's worth putting up with them to be part of the community here and help make this shift happen.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58715.10
ETH 2588.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44