How to Add a Play Button to Your DTube Thumbnail!

in #dtube7 years ago (edited)

Seperator V2.png

Without the famous play button, newbies won't realize that the DTube thumbnail leads to the video! Newbies just think that it is just a picture!

Without the play button, many people will not even see the video and judge you based on what you have written below it.

Many people by the way completely ignore the text section below their posts and like that they miss a lot of potential upvotes.

Yes, I am talking about people like @exyle who basically just writes 100 words and copy pastes his footer at the end. I can't blame him tho as he can make around $600 per post which I currently dream off.

However, to someone that does not know exyle (I don't know him) this just looks like laziness. I am sure he is not lazy as he uploads every day and he also states that he is a developer for the blockchain.

I am not even sure if it is worth it for him to write more text. We all want to work less and earn more. Anyway, this ain't a post about exyle (congrats to the fat payouts by the way), this post is about adding a play button to your thumbnail.

Seperator V2.png

Adding a Play Button to Your Thumbnail.

I am using Photoshop CS6 to add a play button to my thumbnail. If you don't have Photoshop then this tutorial is NOT for you!

Step 1: Download the PSD file that I prepared for you which has the right resolution to be fully displayed on your blog and in the feed and which has the play button already in it. Download the.PSD that I prepared for you by clicking on this link: https://ufile.io/74wqv

Step 2: Copy paste your picture into it and stretch it. I recommend that you cut your pictures before so that they look good in a 800x460 resolution (the size of the thumbnail).

Step 3: Put the picture under the first layer and boom that's it. Your thumbnail is now in the correct size and has a play button!

Step 4: Enjoy more and higher upvotes! For more tutorials about anything related to Steemit, I recommend the blog of @Flauwy!
 
Seperator V2.png
 
Get More Upvotes & Followers: Steemfollower

My Previous Post: Road to 100000 Steem Power

My Website: Youtube Channel

Seperator V2.png

Seperator V2.png

▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Sort:  

Thanks, Phiphi! This is a good read and your play button guide is pretty useful especially for those who want to earn through DTube.

Thank you Dawny.

I always wondered how you got your vids to look so cool. I have no clue how to make it look spazzy. That's something I really like about your content. You have your own style and swag.

Thanks early.

Super swag in the future when I can quit my translation business and focus 100% on Steem!

This is a fair and valid point. It also bothered me instantly that there was no play button to denote a video and little click here additions to the text are pretty fugly.

While this may be a workaround for the time being it's a solid one and it's really on @dtube's end to fix it.

Thanks!

100% agree Zeroooc.

Enjoy the free template.

Thanks!
Gonna have a lookout for more people creating graphic assets, perhaps we can pool.

This is a such a simple detail, yet easily overlooked and effective. I think I might be dabbling into videos soon, so this will be useful.

Dtube would benefit a lot from simple adjustments like this, totally agreed.

Hope you do make some videos @eonwarped!
Bit by bit, guess we are all beta testers now.

cool, you can do that on canva too. Learned something new and going to do it right now!!! Thank you for that!!! And it wouldn't take my comment on Dtube :(
Was nice to hear the sirens in the background - reminded me so much of Germany - well, you are there, but you know what I mean. The feeling of home. You sure like to swear a lot! In German too?

I swear a lot in German and English. It is part of my nature and repressing that because society and braindead drones say so would make me depressed. I am a rebel.

Fun fact: I talk more English per day than I talk German.

really? Well, you are a translator right?
That makes sense. Don't get depressed. Swear the frustration away :)
However, I read somewhere that when people swear all the time, it doesn't give that much relieve as when they swear infrequently but when real shit happens.....

Yes, I am a translator.

I don't care what others say about what is "relieve", they ain't me, fuck em.

And I just uploaded a snap with the play button. Thank you again!!

Great information!! Thank you for sharing what took you time to learn with me!
Now I might start looking at Dtube more and more.

You should, it gets you a lot of cash if you put the work in.

That kind of work I can do as it makes me happy to share my stories on Video. Then I can read them out loud how they sound in my head which brings better meaning to them in the end I think.

I couldn't get your Dtube to work when I clicked it. It just kept loading for me. I will have to look at it more in depth tomorrow when I have more time.

It can take 30-60 seconds to load, sometimes it doesn't load at all (that happens rarely).

Big contra for using DTube but it will be resolved sooner or later. DTube is here to stay and win big.

Thank you again for this post! It was invaluable late last night when I was trying to get a play button on my dtube post!

you will. wait what I have in store for you lol

creativity...thank you..
good to share...

@upvoted

The play button will increase the number (& power) of upvotes that you get!

thanks for the help, especially it will be relevant to those who only like me, start working with this project, so you do a good service when so step by step explain to us all, thanks

Thank you Franklin.

Upvoted...resteemed.....will be following thank you very much

Fucking awesome man......
How simple blood play button can change things.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62835.77
ETH 3392.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50