How You Write Reflects How Much You Respect Yourself

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)

V8 Separator.png

Do you always write with smileys, do you like to write "xD" or do you like to ignore grammar and punctuation? Or even worse, all of it?

What you say and how you look gives people an idea of who you are. The same is true for your writing online or offline.

I am a very analytical person and I have the ability to see what other people do not see.

Analytical.jpg

V8 Separator.png

Care About How you Write

Actually, you don't need to give a shit because it is your life, but when other people are involved aka when they read your writing then it ain't about you alone anymore.

You are here on Steem to make money so take it seriously.

Who will you respect more? The person that cares about punctuation, grammar and formatting or the person that writes:

Nerd.jpg

What you write plays a huge role as well but this post is not about that topic.

Also, I recommend to stop using smileys or writing shit like "xD". When I see people writing that I immediately know that they lack testosterone and self-respect.

So if you want to be an authority, a person that is taken seriously, then you have to care about punctuation, grammar, formatting and what you write.

V8 Separator.png

Berserkers Discord Server: Discord

Convert your Bitcoin to EUR/USD (Europe): Wirex

Get More & Higher Upvotes: Steemfollower

V8 Separator.png

Stats day 100.jpg

V8 Separator.png

▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Sort:  

Thank you! I so agree.

My parents were sticklers for correct grammar and punctuation, as my dad was a teacher, and mom probably should have been. They had an amazing library, which my sisters and I took full advantage of, which enabled all of us to take or education much further than what we were exposed to in our formal schooling.

This is why FB and Twitter drive me to distraction, with all the intentional misspellings and obfuscations, that result in the real point of what the author is saying being lost in the drivel.

Your post reminded me of one of my favorite poems, by Taylor Mali, who taught school in a private school in NYC before becoming a full time poet.

The poem is about the ongoing destruction of the English language by people who are "too cool" to speak correctly, and my favorite part is the last two stanzas:

"I entreat you, I implore you, I exhort you,
I challenge you: To speak with conviction.

To say what you believe in a manner that bespeaks
the determination with which you believe it.
Because contrary to the wisdom of the bumper sticker,
it is not enough these days to simply QUESTION AUTHORITY.
You have to speak with it, too."

Very good comment and I agree 100%.

I can not take people who write like children seriously and I am not interested in what they write.

Yes, I agree. I'm really tired of people, online and otherwise, forgetting how to behave like adults.

It's as though they've completely forgotten (if they ever knew) how to have a polite disagreement with someone, without immediately devolving into slurs and name calling.

I'm admin on a couple of different FB groups, including a very large artist's group, and the sheer numbers of adult-aged children throwing online fits for no reason is staggering.

There seems to be a lot of that going around these days.

Argumenting with people that are clearly below you is a waste of time.

Great video! Keep respect yourself.

Thank you Bassuniverse.

I think this is a matter of personal preference. It also matters what you're writing and who your intended audience is.

Using emojis is fun for me and has no impact on my self-respect. My intention is usually for the reader to enjoy what they're reading. If the reader hates slang or a conversational style, they'll hate my writing.

There is a wide range of writers and readers out there; not one style fits all.

Surely it does, if you have an audience of nerds they will surely appreciate smileys.

I don't understand what you're saying ^^
If you'd used an emoji, it could've been clearer ;)

I love that you left in the part where you lost your train of thought. :D Made me smile. Thank you for that!

Congratulations on 100 posts in a row!! Huge achievement!

Have a wonderful day!

Thank you my lovely Snooky.

You too.

edited* Ohhhh I made a new Sims video :D just used the music with no words BUT it's a good dance beat!! Not exactly what you suggested but think it's better than the elevator music I had before. <laughing>

Do you have that saying in Germany? "elevator music" ? Here it means old people music.

Thank You!!! I will try and have a good day but have a very bad cold going on.......so we will see how today goes. I might have to make some more monsters so Carl has some friends in the lava fields LOLLL

Oh good Gosh, I wrote a book. I guess I had more to say then I thought :D

In Germany, we call that music "Schlager".

Get well soon, I don't mind you saying more than necessary.

Agreed, writing is practically as unique and informative about the writer as the lines on his/her face. There are many useful tools being made for analyzing user's writing styles, here's a very simple "positive or negative" sentiment analysis tool- you might like this:

https://www.danielsoper.com/sentimentanalysis/default.aspx

Interesting tool, thank you for sharing it.

So true! Thank you very much for this informative video! What country are you from? I'm from Germany and it's sometimes very hard to write in English because punctuation is very different from German. I think Steem is more like a protest for some people. I only signed up because I wanted to watch my favorite creators videos not on YouTube but on DTube because of YouTube's recent developments. I could watch them on YouTube, but here I've got no ads. I don't expect to earn much, maybe 6$ or so, I wouldn't spend my time here if there weren't any good videos.

That's cool. I'll definitely keep watching. :)

Check this post out to kickstart your Steem journey!
https://steemit.com/dtube/@valorforfreedom/4zgiq2vj

Respect yourself

We are all alone, born alone, die alone, and—in spite of True Romance magazines—we shall all someday look back on our lives and see that, in spite of our company, we were alone the whole way. I do not say lonely—at least, not all the time—but essentially, and finally, alone. This is what makes your self-respect so important, and I don't see how you can respect yourself if you must look in the hearts and minds of others for your happiness

My post ain't about looking to find happiness in others.

great post....Respect Yourself

thanks a lot for useful post @valorforfreedom! you are doing really good job i look forward your next post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60209.45
ETH 3212.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43