RIP YouTube. Hello DTube.

in #dtube6 years ago

I just checked my emails this morning and recieived this message from YouTube:

IMG_cngs5n.jpg

TLDR: it basically says that any channels with under 1000 subscribers and/or under 4000 hours of watch time in the last 12 months have been demonetised. And it's not said in the nicest way either..

This email serves as 30 says notice that your YouTube partner program terms are terminated.

So what are the implications of this?

It stops smaller creators from being able to make money off of their content and encourages longer, bigger productions.

4000 hours is 240,000 minutes.

So if you upload a one minute video it would need to be viewed 240,000 times before you can get paid.

But not on DTube

As we all know on here, this is the opposite to dTube.

On DTube you can upload a one minute video and earn revenue if just 1 person watches it and rewards you with an upvote.

If 100 people watch it and upvote, the rewards will be much bigger than if 10000 people watched it on YouTube. Especially since 10000 views wouldn't even allow you to be paid on YouTube now.

How about this for a comparison:

  • With 240,000 views on YouTube you would earn roughly $240 (cpm 1$ per 1000 views)
  • With 240 views on dTube you could earn MUCH more. You could earn more with 10 views if you receive strong upvotes.

My main point of writing all this is that I think dTube is the best place for smaller creators right now, especially in terms of monetisation.

If I were starting out with online video then I would definitely choose dTube over YouTube, even more so after this latest change.

It's just a matter of time before more creators flock over to dTube and I'll be happy to be here when they do.

Thanks for reading,
Jord

Sort:  

I had hit over 10,000 views on Youtube the other months and was waiting to be monetized and this would be the reason why It had been taking Youtube so long to monetize channels. Im on 200 subs over on Youtube so It's going to take me ages to hit 1000 but Im gonna work harder for It.
I do have a Dtube channel but knows where the future of this platform lies, I hope It'll be successful; but I was on Vidme and that closed down. So I like to stay on Youtube for the time being.

You're so nice for commenting on this post. For that, I gave you a vote!

Lol thanks, I guess

Such a shortsighted decision by Youtube... They are digging their own grave there and just want to become a mainstrean TV channel or sthg, phasing out small contributors and rewarding only the fat cats.

Definitely agree. Seems like they want big tv like programs instead of the individual content, which is what made it such a success in the first place.

Shared and boosted to my facebook page of 20k followers Screenshot_20180117-105654.jpg

I got the same email ! I'm definitely using dtube full time now haha - no point trying youtube

Defo mate, I think you did well by making the transition early. Plenty more people will in the future

This is really a step back for YouTube. They haven't considered that there are many much better DECENTRALISED alternatives based on blockchain technologies that content creators such as you can transition to. If I were them, I wouldn't be playing this kind of card, I'd be getting my act together to give give creators a reason to stay. Thanks for the post. Youtube's decision does not affect you in any way but is an opportunity for you to grow your Steem following. Look forward to reading your future posts. Interesting how I discovered your YT via Steem.. Hmm... Cheers buddy.

I, of course got the same email. It could be good for everyone on Youtube in the long run, but like you said, most likely it will turn into people making 30 minute crap vlogs just to see some returns. Glad DTube provides an alternative.

Not trying to be vulgar here, but Youtube can SUCK IT!

Noticed the email this morning too and thought exactly the same thing. I fall into the bracket at 600 subs/2000 hours not that I've ever turned on monetisation though.

Yeah this is a total stuff up by uTube I only just started uploading some vids mainly for fun not expecting too much out of it but without the small creators they will die out for sure. I also using steemit and dtube however I found that most people are simply not aware the alternative available now.

Thank you @thelifeofjord for posting this. More and more we will continue to see creators shift to d.tube. I have been involved with video content production for a long time and have been in the tech startup space since the late 90s. I fail to see how senior executives holding regional and global roles in the space ( leading creators, producers and distributors of television/digital brands) are not aware of SMT, steemit, d.tube and Civil. All YT is doing is providing the fuel necessary for more viewers and creators to continue to search for alternatives. The opportunity for them to monetize alone on d.tube vs YT and other platforms is far greater. Just watched https://steemit.com/dtube/@pressfortruth/0fwcvyj8 - were @pressfortruth interviewed @heimindanger the creator of d.tube, and he clearly stated how d.tube has allowed him to generate revenue he would not have seen in YT.

Thank you again for this post
keep them coming :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61143.11
ETH 2928.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56