THEY SHUT DOWN THE INTERNET | DTube Daily Exclusive 15

in #dtube6 years ago


I have just arrived back to Bali in Indonesia and it's the Nyepi Festival (the Day of Silence).

On this day, all people must stay inside and reflect on the year before. Mobile data to the island was completely switched off and even the airport was closed.

An interesting event to witness and glad I got to experience it in our own way!

Thanks for watching,
Jord

twitter thelifeofjord.png

If you enjoyed this post then please remember to follow me.

Popular posts:
My Top 5 Travel Experiences of 2017
Hi I'm Jord and I Get Paid to Travel the World (and you can too..)

You can also find me on:
YouTube - Instagram - Twitter - Facebook - Blog


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I'm going to Bali in two days... Did you even have food to eat that day? My internet is too slow to load your video

Yes we had food, just bought a lot beforehand for a bbq. Cool! Where are you staying?

Kuala Lumpur. So they shut off your (non mobile) internet too? I'm going to Canguu. Started thinking maybe I should've gone to Ubud. You can't go wrong with either, I guess. You in Ubud?

Ahh awesome, we're in Canggu too! Would be cool to meet up at some point.

Oh sweet! How long will you be in Canguu?

I just read this article about how horrible Canguu is compared to Ubud and that made me sad. Hopefully you have better stuff to say lol

Heya ! Nice To see you are back on track! I think it's a very good idéa and we should all take example from it... 1 day a year is not much...

Agreed, it was a nice forced way of spending time together haha

they should never shut down the internet

I was wondering what it would look like to be there on that day! I had never heard of Nyepi Festival until a couple of weeks ago as I was researching different destinations and best time to go for our upcoming round the world. We did travel to Bali in 2013 and we absolutely loved it but went this was in August - We were actually there for independence day without knowing and witnessed parades etc. I think it's great to be able to experience local traditions and events.

in bali always like that bro :D, we cannot to do anything with fire #CMIIW

cause nyepi festival

you have the great moment, although you must follow thr rule there. Switch off all internet, even close the airport.
NYepi Day is a new ear in Caka Calendar. In Hindu bali or indonesia Nyepi is held by BRATA (fasting)
Amati Geni mean no fire. Every hindu's must switch off the tool which make light, such lamp, tv, phonecell internet etc.
Amati Lelungan mean going nowhere. Every Hindu must stay at houme to reflect or introspection themshelves. What has they don and what will they do.
Amati lalanguan mean no entertainment. in Nyepi day it wan really really silent. Even, the moslem didn't use loud speaker when adzan (sign or alling to pra together) to respect Nyepi day.
Amati Karya mean no work in nyepi day. Hindus must make contemplation to clean their soul.

iI has writen in my blog, you can visite

NICE POST AND GREAT MOMENT in Bali.

In West Sumatra also steady. let alone in mentawai with a steady water game

I had no idea about any of this but I sure miss Bali! Expect for the heat lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61041.41
ETH 2947.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85