Preparing The Garden For Some Autumn Kale

in #dtube5 years ago


With summer winding down, it is just about time to pull out the spring garden and prepare for fall. We usually don't plant a winter garden, but it is definitely something that I would like to start doing. This year, we are going to try some kale. I have planted this once or twice in the past, and it was awesome! It was able to live through ice storms and still taste great.

Watch as I clear out some space in the garden for my winter kale seeds.


Music:
Grass by Silent Partner:

Lonely Troutman II by William Rosati:

Sort:  

Hello there. Nice to see you're gardening at home, it's the best thing to do.
Tomatoes sometimes bloom in the early autumn. Those fruits will probably not ripen but it's not a problem as you can make pickles and don't go to waste. Potting the peppers is an excellent idea, the best you can do. At least you gave them a chance o ripe.
Congrats for the great work!

We're about to enter what we lovingly refer to as 3rd summer here in Arkansas. Temps have been in the 70s and low 80s (F) for the past couple of days, but we're supposed to be back in the 90s next week. I'm hoping they'll have some time to ripen up, but I'll definitely settle for some fried green tomatoes!

Good luck and happy to hear you're going to have some nice sunny days again.

Hi sustainablyyours,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

What a beautiful post. I loved seeing the chimbombo (that's what they are called in Venezuela) 3: 32min and the peppers. We all hope to see your fall harvest. Excellent to contribute your knowledge of food sustainability. Many greetings @sustainablyyours,

Thank you! I've never heard (what we call) okra referred to as chimbombo. One of the cool things that I enjoy about posting here is gaining new perspectives from people all over the world.

I just planted the kale seeds two days ago, so if I can keep our chickens out of the garden, they should be popping up pretty soon!

Hi @sustainablyyours
I really liked your autumn-winter planting project.
I didn't know that kale was so resistant to low temperatures.
Everything looks beautiful, the jalapeños are very good, what a shame you can't eat them.
Congratulations on a vote Curie, Enjoy it! <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<

We actually found that the kale tasted better after a good cold snap. It made it lose some of the bitter flavor that warm-weather kale tends to have. And, I want to like jalapenos. I'm trying to slowly build up a tolerance. lol

Thank you for the awesome comment!

Now that you highlight this from the cold, I usually salt and freeze the onion on wheels to eat it raw and I tolerate it better you could try the jalapenos and thanks to you for your incredible post.
Stay Great!

Hello! A pleasure♡

I find it exciting that there are people like you productive! Your creation is great.

Greetings from Venezuela♡

Thank you! {:o) I'm happy that you enjoyed it!

Congratulations @sustainablyyours! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 350 posts. Your next target is to reach 400 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard supports the SteemFest⁴ Travel Reimbursement Fund.
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63483.25
ETH 2601.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81