[DTube Version:]Follow Me, Babaaayyy!!! How (Not) To Gain Followers On Steemit

in #dtube7 years ago (edited)

Watch Follow Me, Babaaayyy!!! How (Not) To Gain Followers On Steemit [new dtube vlog inside] video on DTube


It seems to be one of the most discussed questions among newbies on steemit. There is even kind of a competition running on who has the most followers. I personally don't understand the hype since I have a completely different view on these numbers.

Actually I had a nice laughter shooting today's video together with my little cat called "Maya". So you gonna find a lot of funny out-takes at the end of the clip.

Edit: The YouTube version of this video will be published in a few minutes since Dtube is facing some display problems right now...

Hugs & kisses
Little Maya & Marly -

PS: My next little investment is going to be a microphone. Please excuse the improvable audio quality - GoPros are not really made for voice recordings.

Sort:  

Upvote of course for both versions, no matter which platform you use @surfermarly

Hihi thank you very much my friend!!!

Hello @surfermarly, I recommend encoding your videos to a lower bitrate. On my connection it takes a bit of time to buffer. Your file is 343 MB for 3 minutes which is on the high side I think. Well it depends on connections of people, but just a warning :D

You are absolutely right. I chose 1080p (Full HD) - having a bitrate of 15Mbps and frame rate of 30p. I could have gone down to 60p and 8 Mbps which is recommended for YouTube as well. Thing is that I have some slowmotions inside that really suffer when I go down like that. But probably it's better to have a semi-nice slowmotion but people still watching the video, instead of nobody seeing it :-))

Thanks for the hint and have a good day!

LOL Love the outtakes at the end. I always do this when making a video, I get so frustrated at myself and then just edit out all the mumbles and stutters and moments of silent contemplation where I look like I forgot I was recording lol

Haha, thanks! Yeah, I love editing the out-takes. It reminds us that we're no bots 😃
By the way: how is your video project going?

We are still in the planning phase. Working on getting me to america first ;)

Oh wow - NICE! :) Crossing my fingers for that step!!

I'm new and was blown away by the Follow me and ill follow and upvote you too comments. I just dont want to be that guy. ... Now please follow me and resteem me... doesnt that statement make you feel comfortable and appreciated? I thought not.

Oh thanks for commenting here, that was the way I just discovered your blog (and this amazing drone surf video)!!! Look: that's how true followership works - through common interest :)

I measure success by upvotes... I have around 1300 "followers" whoever they are (I don't think I know that many people). What I'm beginning to hate is the upvote/follow me beggars. I used to at least get a "nice post" Now it's just "follow me" or "how about an upvote."

I'm flagging them now!

I have around 1300 "followers" whoever they are

Yeah well that "whoever they are" is the real problem...
I don't flag, I choose to ignore them.
People who leave nice comments in my blog can earn up to $1.00 for a comment. Spammers get $0.00. So everybody has a fair chance 😉

Thanks for stopping by!!

I never flagged anybody until about a month ago... We have to drive them back to Facebook before they ruin Steemit!

I think it is a really efficient way to get flagged rather than a follow haha
I don't think it is even worth asking for people to follow you if they are never going to view your content nor engage with it as they are purely following because you told them to and not because they enjoy what you are doing.
The voice recording isn't too bad @surfermarly but i can't wait to see what the new microphone will be like

They are purely following because you told them to and not because they enjoy what you are doing.

Yeah, that's what doesn't help much. If people follow you but then never get back to your blog, where's the sense??? Having one more on the list? Not really...

Thanks for stopping by!

And yes, I will buy that microphone no matter what - haha

I'm sort of a numbers geek at the best of times... and one of things I've noticed fairly consistently about those who create good content is that they follow far fewer people than follow them. You're no exception; I'm no exception...

Seeking "followers" is a meaningless game, unless someone is offering a prize for "most followers." And that's what I try to teach newcomers... "What you want is READERS, not FOLLOWERS."

I have 1600 followers, and I have little idea who most of them are. I'm willing to bet I have looked at 90% of their pages at least ONCE, but unless they had something to offer I was interested in, I don't "follow back." Now, when I look at who upvotes my posts... it's pretty much the same 120-150 people with minor variation depending on time of the day the post went out. And those also happen to be the 120-150 people I actively follow! Which, I think, says a LOT about the value (or lack of) that results from simply seeking "followers."

Great and spot-on post as always!

Edited to add: P.S. I like your cat!

Thanks for your encouragement and the time dedicated to comment!
I always appreciate your profound analysis (numbers geek view :-)).

Those who create good content is that they follow far fewer people than follow them.

Yeah well, if you are a dedicated content creator you actually CAN'T be a good curator. I mean I would love to read the articles of ALL of my followers, but it's mathematically impossible. I spend 5-6 hours daily producing content. Besides, I have a "regular job" :)

I have 1600 followers, and I have little idea who most of them are. I'm willing to bet I have looked at 90% of their pages at least ONCE, but unless they had something to offer I was interested in, I don't "follow back."

I "follow back" as a gesture of appreciation, when this appreciation is earned. I use it as a "tool" to show people that I'm grateful for their doings. However, I'm not the best follower to them (see above), since I really don't curate much. 90% of my upvotes are spent on comments in my articles (like yours here :-)).

Everybody needs to find their way of generating value, because that's what's rewarded here in the end. We cant't be a jack of all trades ever.

Maya is like my baby. I don't have kids, so she's the perfect compensation. Love her to the moon and back for being such a curious "person" (she always needs to be in the center - like her mom, haha).

Have a great day!

Follow me like my other 1800 followers who never visit my posts yayyyy! (Not you cause you do visit from time to time!)

I miss having a cat around, showing me how to relax :) not long til I'm in chillout mode 😎😎😎

Hehe, yeah I do my best to have come around from time to time 😉 I know it could be more often, but I'm rather a content producer than a curator these days. My apologies!!

I've got FOUR of them, hehe They really calm me down.

Have a nice day!!

I forgive you 😁 4 cats you are lucky!

When I have something worth curating I will let you know! Enjoy your evening with the cats :)

Yeah please drop me links! That's much easier :-)

Careful what you wish for! :p

cuRate me cuRate me! I hope you like it, and if not, you can still wish me 1 year on Steemit! :)

Haha, you're on my surferbotty list btw :-)

yayyyy!! You are on mine too! I find you post during my cycle home from work so sometimes i've missed you, not any more!

Follow me I follow you~

;)

the sound was fine marly :), The cat is nice too, its always difficult to know who to follow but i guess the best metric is to follow those that interest you, for example today i have followed 2 new people, one who lived in ireland but has moved to brazil to study plants and culture and other stuff i havent heard of and another who wrote a fictional short story that made me think, i also follow others that have followed me if when i look at their content there is something that interests or inspires me, i can understand people that follow everyone in the hope to get followed back also as its sometimes the only way a small voice can get heard, for example i have read really good posts from new members that have deserved more credit but have a small following so their posts went largely unseen, and i have seen big posts that show what someone has had for dinner that have gained huge exposure so i guess its a difficult balance but i do think what you say is right :)

It's always difficult to know who to follow but i guess the best metric is to follow those that interest you.

Agreed 100%.
It's like in real life. Why should you follow somebody (and the related content) that is not of your interest? That wouldn't make any sense. So it's all about interests, engagement, shared knowledge and mutual support to grow together.

Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62623.58
ETH 3021.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72