Video of processing Mason Bee cocoons Part 3

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)


As I open the Bamboo reeds I find it hard remove the Bees gracefully. Sometimes the cocoons and whatever else inside goes flying everywhere due to the Bamboo being hard to open. The Bamboo has a spring to it and making it hard to open slowly and carefully. I dont think the Bees mind as long as my screwdriver and cutters do not puncture the cocoons. I try to be as careful as possible but at the same time process them in a timely manner. After opening I use my wooden stick to pry them off the walls of the inside of the Bamboo homes. The mud laid by the female Mason bees holds them in well until I open up the Bamboo homes.

Though its not too bad, nothing is moving just dormant insects. And I hope with my new Mason Bee home design it wont be so much of an issue next year. I prep the cleaning solution to remove any mites or other things on the outside of the cocoon that may harm the Bees when they emerge. I use Spearmint oil mixed into cold water. Its important to use water that is chilled so the Bees do not emerge. That will only happen if you use warm water. I did not record the process of cleaning the cocoons but did take pictures and have shared the process in a previous post.

There will be one more segment I will be releasing, and then no more Bee content until the Bees emerge in less than a month (if the weather cooperates). We shall find out real soon if I took good care of them by processing the Bees. And I think between the incubation homes @whangster79 made me, and the use of some trays I can get them all to emerge. Time shall tell though, but soon enough I will find out.

If the video has trouble playing, please use my IPFS Gateway instead of D.tube's by following this link

More info on these Bees can be found on their Wikipedia page.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mason_bee

Links to other parts in this series..

https://steemit.com/dtube/@solominer/wnq1ad6w
Part 1

https://steemit.com/dtube/@solominer/l9212tc9
Part 2


Addresses below to help me buy better camera equipment and support me to travel to locations to do photo and video and overall great blogs in new places. I would be happy to list some of the contributors in my posts for donations that help me along the way.

CoinAddress
BTC:bc1qhfmvd2gywg4fvrgy2kkkkyqta0g86whkt7j8r7
LTC:ltc1qdyzm5cwgt8e2373prx67yye6y9ewk0l8jf3ys9
DASH:XkSqR5DxQL3wy4kNbjqDbgbMYNih3a7ZcM
ETH:0x045f409dAe14338669730078201888636B047DC3
DOGE:DSoekC21AKSZHAcV9vqR8yYefrh8XcX92Z
ZEN:znW9mh62WDSCeBXxnVLCETMx59Ho446HJgq

▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Sort:  

Your post has been manually curated by FreeVoter Team.You can earn liquid steem by delegating SP to @freevoter !! We are now paying 100% daily earnings and 90% Curation reward and ESTM & Dlike token to our delegators !! Join Discord for more information. Thank you !!

Hi @solominer!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.821 which ranks you at #5057 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 86 places in the last three days (old rank 5143).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 86 contributions, your post is ranked at #12.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63184.34
ETH 2560.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72