Video of processing Mason Bee cocoons Part 1

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)


On a cold day I worked out in the garage with my camera recording above me. This was the first time I opened these homes so I slowly went through them. It took me a few hours to process a few hundred cocoons so I split this video up into four parts.

I use a screwdriver to crack open the large Bamboo containing the smaller Bamboo tubes. Over time I found myself opening the homes using some wire cutters and the screw driver to torque open cracks I made in the Bamboo.

I collect the Mason Bee Cocoons and keep them aside for washing. I was amazed how many would fit in a small area, and was consistently finding thirty or so eggs in a single tube. I found a tiny gnat sized Wasp inside the mud homes. Probably attacking the cocoons, a good reason to get them out and cleaned so they will be safe.

The backs of the Bamboo were also filled with cocoons, I was not expecting that. And along the inside walls of the large Bamboo mud structures were built. Maybe they ran out of tubes late in the season and just started building them in the large gaps between the tubes.

I spent about two or so hours doing these, and ended up having to work a half day with @ryulincoln to collect the rest, due to the disposable Bamboo tubes it was slow work to get them all out. I think next year will be much easier with my bee boards.

I will post part two in the next few days, of me continuing my work on processing the mason bee cocoons.

If the video has trouble playing, please use my IPFS Gateway instead of D.tube's by following this link


Addresses below to help me buy better camera equipment and support me to travel to locations to do photo and video and overall great blogs in new places. I would be happy to list some of the contributors in my posts for donations that help me along the way.

CoinAddress
BTC:bc1qhfmvd2gywg4fvrgy2kkkkyqta0g86whkt7j8r7
LTC:ltc1qdyzm5cwgt8e2373prx67yye6y9ewk0l8jf3ys9
DASH:XkSqR5DxQL3wy4kNbjqDbgbMYNih3a7ZcM
ETH:0x045f409dAe14338669730078201888636B047DC3
DOGE:DSoekC21AKSZHAcV9vqR8yYefrh8XcX92Z
ZEN:znW9mh62WDSCeBXxnVLCETMx59Ho446HJgq

▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Sort:  

Your post has been manually curated by FreeVoter Team.You can earn liquid steem by delegating SP to @freevoter !! We are now paying 100% daily earnings and 90% Curation reward and ESTM & Dlike token to our delegators !! Join Discord for more information. Thank you !!

Hi, @solominer!

You just got a 11.24% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @solominer!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.777 which ranks you at #5329 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 735 places in the last three days (old rank 6064).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 78 contributions, your post is ranked at #13.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57852.72
ETH 2355.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44