Speed Drawing: Hornbill Skeleton

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)

screen-TLhornbill.jpg

Hi everyone! Today´s time-lapse will be an ink & watercolors painting of a Hornbill Skeleton.

Half way through my animal skulls & skeletons series, I felt adding a little bit of color to contrast the large black shapes would be an interesting idea. Hornbill & Toucan´s beaks provided me with a perfect opportunity to introduce colors in the series.

Here is the time-lapse of the painting. The quality is not the best, I had not yet figured out how to light my desk properly when i filmed it. I hope it will still be enjoyable.

D-tube link

Wanna see more of these videos? Subscribe to my YouTube or D-tube channels!

Tip of the day:

Use a water wash with very little ink to do your first shading pass.

There are many techniques to shade ink drawing. Since I rarely do shading studies, do not use references for shading, & improvise on the spot; I tend to shade very slowly and carefully.

I like to build up my shading starting with a very light grey, almost a water wash; my first shading pass is so light you can barely see it. This allows me to define the zones of shade without fear of going too far and messing the painting.

I then superpose 3 or 4 layers of grey shading of different intensity over that initial layer. Each layer is darker than the previous one, thus creating a rough gradient. I usually then add a last pass in which I push some zones of black or very dark grey to increase contrast on interesting areas.

Here is the final result.

screen-hornbill-finished.jpg

Framed prints of this piece are available on my website & limited edition NFTs (10 ) can be purchased on my Makersplace store. Original still available, contact me directly if you are interested.

Material used:

The material used is the same as in my previous ink paintings at the exception of watercolors. For this type of work I like to use watercolors in tubes, my favorite are the Cotman watercolors by Windsor & Newton. I dilute them with very little water & keep their pasty consistency in order to use them like gouache or acrylic paint.

Pen & Ink Fountain Pen
Noodler´s Black Fountain Pen Ink
Water Brush
Kuretake Sumi Ink
Masking Fluid
Arches Paper
Cotman Watercolors Tubes

I hope you enjoyed my post and that it was useful to some of you. Do not hesitate to ask me any questions, I´ll try my best to answer them.

Have a nice day,

Skeenee!

signature-steemit2.jpg

my site| instagram | twitter| makersplace| youtube

slideShow-skullWall.jpg

Sort:  

Guten Tag,

Mein Name ist GermanBot und du hast von mir ein Upvote erhalten. Als UpvoteBot möchte ich dich und dein sehr schönen Beitrag unterstützen. Jeden Tag erscheint ein Voting Report um 19 Uhr, in dem dein Beitrag mit aufgelistet wird. In dem Voting Report kannst du auch vieles von mir erfahren, auch werden meine Unterstützer mit erwähnt. Schau mal bei mir vorbei, hier die Votings Reports. Mach weiter so, denn ich schaue öfter bei dir vorbei.

Euer GermanBot

Thanks a lot German Bot!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

WOOOW, great work <3 ... love the bones!

...i also really love the framed works at the end!!
Cant wait to see more!

cheers,

edga -NOWARGraffitis

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61986.52
ETH 2406.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65