Speed Drawing: Orca Skeletons + NFT Contest!

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)

screen-orcas.jpg

Hi guys! Today´s time-lapse: a couple of orca skeletons. I am also gonna start to do NFTs giveaways; to begin I will do a Twitter giveaway of the first edition of this NFT. Scroll down to see the post link & giveaway rules.

I had the idea of drawing these orca skeletons after watching the documentary "Blackfish" about Seaworld´s cruel treatment of killer-whales and the suspicious deaths caused by the infamous orca "Tilikum". A great watch!

Here is the time-lapse:

D-tube link
If you enjoyed it please consider subscribing to my YouTube or D-tube channels.

This video is also a good illustration of one of the tips I gave you on how to stay clean: "Be creative about your fuck ups & do not be too quick to trash a drawing"

Derp Recovery:

There are a lot of lines in this drawing and after spending an hour laying them down, I started the the inking process. 10 seconds after I started inking, I put my hand in fresh ink and smudged the drawing. Arrrrgh the rage!

But as I said in my previous post, you have to be creative about your derps:P
Here is how I fixed it:
derpOrca.gif
(Sorry for the video quality, I could not get a proper gif of acceptable size)

That was an easy & efficient fix, there are no traces left of my mistake in the final piece. And to prove it to you here is a picture of it:P

screen-orcasFinal.jpg
If you like this piece, you can acquire framed prints on my website & limited edition(10) NFTs on my Makersplace shop. Contact me if you want to buy the original.

Tip of the day:

Dragging ink to fill small spaces.

This drawing was difficult. Inking the little spaces between the ribs and the spine was a real challenge but I learned a great technique to solve that problem.

Usually you should never have too much ink on you brush and always get rid of the excess ink after loading it. In this situation, having too much ink on your brush actually helps a great deal.

The trick is to put a little drop of ink on the paper and to slowly drag it in the little gaps, barely touching the paper with your brush.

Here is a gif to illustrate my point:
cent-inkDropOptimized.gif

I use this trick in most of my ink paintings, a life saver for "confined spaces".

Material used:

Pen & Ink Fountain Pen
Noodler´s Black Fountain Pen Ink
Water Brush
Kuretake Sumi Ink
Masking Fluid
Arches Paper

Giveaway: win the Orca Skeletons first edition NFT!

If you wanna try to win the first edition of this NFT, join my Twitter giveaway.

Classic rules:

  1. Follow me on twitter.
  2. Like & retweet the giveaway post.
  3. Leave an ethereum wallet address in the post comments(on twitter).

Here is the post on twitter!

The contest will run until Thursday 19th Sept and I will randomly select & announce the winner on Friday 20th.

That´s it for today, I hope you enjoyed my post and that it was helpful. Shoot any questions and critiques my way!

Have a nice day,

Skeenee!

signature-steemit2.jpg

my site| instagram | twitter| makersplace| youtube

slideShow-skullWall.jpg

Sort:  

Awesome! Thank´s for sharing

Thanks a lot:) So happy you guys enjoy it!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thanks for the support!:D

Sup Dork?!? Enjoy the Upvote!!! Keep up with the dorky content for more love!!!

Tx Dork! I will:D

Such a lovely ink drawing Skeenee. Swimming out of their starry universes these orcas look so very free and happy.

Loved watching how you paint within the confined small spaces by spreading a drop of the ink. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

Thanks a lot Ally! And tx for joining the Giveaway:D

Skilled precision work............very appealing.

Thanks a lot! I'll keep them coming:)!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62900.77
ETH 2949.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59