You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: There Are Too Many Old Farts On Here

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)

I'm a middle aged man, I guess that makes me an old fart, then again, I'm not a fan of any other social media site other than steemit.

Young people tend to be dreamers, not always focused on reality, or care to be.

Reality is all too mundane and boring for many people (including some "old farts") they want drama, the faker the better, and in some ways I don't blame them, it can be real hell transitioning to adulthood.

Sort:  

Pretty much anyone over 25 (including me) is an old fart by social media standards. The 13 to 15 year old demographic determines what apps and platforms are cool and trendy. Thats why the majority of popular youtubers' fanbase is that demographic. They are the ones that invest the most time into consuming content.

Yeah, they dream because life is mundane for them. They have to go to school and study for the majority of their lives.

Posted using Partiko Android

I escaped the boring school routine when I was in my teens, no regrets.

No internet back then, movies and music were my whole life.

Nostalgia, is my drug of choice now, mid-life crisis, here I come!

How did you escape the boring school routine? You just dropped out and started working?

I think socialization is what keeps people attached to our past and the good old days. We eventually reach a point in our life where we have to function in a methodical way and that kind of makes new things seem strange. Perhaps it is our lack of emotional connection with life as we get older that makes it seem like things in the past were always better than they are now.

I missed this reply, sorry for the delay.

Yes, I started working at the age of 14, and continued to study for necessary qualifications part time.

We had/have? a great flexible education system in Minnesota. (community colleges, many trade schools etc.)

You could choose your own hours and courses, it wasn't prestigious, it was unusually practical.

I could schedule my life in a matter that was the most effective, starting at the age of 14, a lifestyle choice that I still utilize today.

Its your mind, many people are stuck with limited, or no choices on how to educate their minds, especially in China.

Looking back, all of the best education I have had has been hands on, real world experience.

Almost nobody is allowed to think outside of the box anymore, much to the detriment of society.

Its true, most knowledge that is impactful comes from real hands on experience. Book knowledge is easily forgotten and/or diluted.

Good for you. It seems like youre doing.l quite well for yourself in China.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69718.72
ETH 3746.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81