Dérive Episode 001

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)


Welcome to the first episode of my Dérive series that I’ll be bringing to DTube. I’m hoping to have a video drop every Friday or Saturday. I’ll be selecting some great songs and genres for my videos that are a sample of my taste in music. These videos are a little way for me to share my personal experiences, surroundings, and journeys. This series is named Dérive to pay homage to “The Theory of Dérive”. A few years ago in college, I was fortunate enough to learn about this Psychogeological experiment with @nwjordan

Psychogeological Experiment?
The translation we read was of the original article published in 1956 in the Belgian surrealist journal, Les Lévres Nues. Dérive (drifting) is referred to as, “the technique of rapid passage through varied ambiances” and during these dérives, “one or more persons during a certain period drop their relations, their work and leisure activities, and all their other usual motives for movement and action, and let themselves be drawn by the attractions of the terrain and the encounters they find there.” (Quotes from Theory of the Dérive - Guy Debord)

A Little About the Article
I was intrigued that in these experiments, you would lose yourself entirely in your surroundings and let impulses take over to guide you rather than your experiences or knowledge of these areas. A way to practice a dérive varies, but for one example, you could go to somewhere like New York City and try to navigate the city with a map of London or Tokyo and see how far you would get. These immersions in your surroundings can last up to a day and may be best if spontaneously done, rather than setting a time to drift.

Dérive?
I chose this as the theme, not because I am aimlessly driving somewhere or anything like that, but because I have my own “passages through varied ambiances”. Throughout the week I may travel from anywhere to a dense city, to a suburban area surrounded by mountains, to flat open lands, to wherever the trip may take me. I’m excited to share these videos and look forward to recording future vacations to other states and wherever life takes me.

Dérive Episode 001

I’m starting the episodes off with some Chillstep and chillout music. I listen to just about everything when it comes to music, but I am going to stick to some slower paced stuff for now. The types of songs I am choosing are songs that I might listen to while doing some work or just relaxing and hanging out. When I can, I’ll try to have parts of the song be specific to the video as a whole or a specific part. I’ll be using a few of Sappheiros’ songs in my episodes, but chose this song, Dawn, to start us off with a brand new day and video of driving. I thought this trip had a good feel to it with its bends and turns along with the music, hope you enjoy.

Artist: Sappheiros
Song: Dawn

DISCLAIMER
I try to match videos and songs as best I can and will be collecting multiple videos before posting, so they will not be in any particular order. The videos are not intended for defamation purposes of drivers shown in the videos, simply your viewing pleasure. I will remove any unsafe driving footage by others and practice safe driving myself, as should others. (Especially my fellow Jersey drivers!) Video footage is hyperlapsed at various speeds and may change during the video. I do not advocate racing or unsafe driving. Now that that’s said and done, enjoy the videos and see you next time.

Videos filmed with:
Smartphone - HTC 10

Videos edited with:
HTC 10 / Zoe Video Editor Hyperlapse
Wondershare Filmora


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Sort:  

I like this just gives off good vibes, diffently did an amazing job.

Thanks a lot, what I'll be going for in all my future videos, stay tuned.

Nice piece for Episode 1. The chillstep was nice and soothing. I most enjoyed how you referenced Les Lévres Nues and broke down the Theory of Dérive for everyone.

Great post. Looking forward to more of the series and thanks for the shout out. Keep it up bro.

Thanks man. Figured I would give everyone a look into where these videos "derive" from lol. Looking forward to making these videos every week.

haha. Yea. A weekly show sounds good. I'm working on shifting my format to something similar as well.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #smartphonephotography

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 19:45:32
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 10.10/100.00
Total Photos: 2
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64768.36
ETH 3436.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51