KENAZ by ElksHorizon

in #dtube5 years ago


Torch Fire
It was a cruel and brutal hour, under starlit sky sublime, I’d contemplated everything, of reason, faith, and time; when at first I met that voice, which cut through heart and mind.
“My dear why do you walk alone, with troubles of this kind?”
Startled humble by the question, I tried to answer true; I knew it came from deep within, and I knew what I must do.
“The way is dark,” I answered, “and trust is running low.” “Teach me oh thou inner voice, what it is that I should know.”
The image shimmering answered, as it began to glow. With humor I could hear her say, voice coming soft and slow; “Your heart is true but incomplete, you need your light to grow. This is not the place of Gods. I cannot say, what is the way, for fear to break your odds. You have the strength it takes inside, but I can bring it forth. I’ll tell you what to do my friend. In silence is your test, listen to me closely dear, put away your every fear, and let your feelings rest.
Only then will what is deep within burst out of heart and chest. Kenaz reveals nature’s law, she is the Torch you seek!
I’ll send her forth by ancient means, be patient, you will meet.”

And then she fast departed, I retired then to bed, and dreamed of eras past, and followed where they led.

Another night passed on ahead, filled with harsh and undo dread. I availed myself of silence, and remembered what she said; that patience would bring forth my guide and peace in my own head.

And so I thought a passive state is what I must achieve, by fasting silence, wind and fire, beneath both roof and tree. At first I’d thought that sitting there, would surely be enough, and one night passed much now improved, but nothing had showed up.
On the second, an epiphany finally came into the rough. If a friend is what I seek, should I offer something up? So then I prepared a sacrifice, an ancient gesture, true. The milk and mead, were left to seed, while food I did eschew. I’d read in ancient fairy tales this offering of dew, was fit for fairy folks, and Gods, who would take this thing in lieu of greater sacrifice to come, in all that I must do.

And on the third night absent from the world I knew before, I realized I’d not thought to ask, or even here had put to task, the fire I’d longed for. So raising hand and face, I offered ancient prayer, I’d read it once this was the way, they’d offered it back there. I echoed back the sentiment, I’d heard in darkest hour: “Kenaz, promised friend, I need your guiding light, upon my Alter, all is set, my heart is open as my door into the boundless night. Won’t you dine with me tonight; tell me did I say that right?”

To my shock and faltering faith, I saw a flash of light straight through my open door. A blaze of orange and white passed in and out of sight. I hesitated briefly, before just to my right a voice like water in my ear, whispered sweetly, “I am here”.

I jumped two feet at that, and when my heart returned, I looked down and turned my eyes. It seemed my senses hadn’t lied, a Fox had here appeared inside.
Quietly and startled still, I stared and asked with caution,
“Are you the Torch I sook? Or is this a pet adoption?”
And so the fox with gentle eyes, and chuckling to herself, and with ever softening look, simply nodded and with pointed paw addressed me to a book. “You used the proper words I see, to summon me. You asked my help, and offered me a victual fit for Gods”
I said, “I did, and here you are, I hope I wasn’t wrong” and then she answered merrily; “My darling, we’ll get on” And in that very moment, my fear was finally gone.

|\ Music: Neroche - Elixir


|\ Animation: ESTEE LAUDER La Mer

  • Dreaming by Wei-Shen Wang
  • For The Remainder by Omer Ben David
  • Sort:  

    Sneaky-Ninja-Throwing-Coin 125px.jpg
    Defended (100.00%)
    Summoned by @satorid
    Sneaky Ninja supports @youarehope and @tarc with a percentage of all bids.
    Everything You Need To Know About Sneaky Ninja


    woosh

    Coin Marketplace

    STEEM 0.30
    TRX 0.12
    JST 0.033
    BTC 64420.25
    ETH 3150.23
    USDT 1.00
    SBD 3.99