The Best Thing That Ever Happened To Me

in #dtube7 years ago


A long time ago I changed my thoughts. It led to creating websites, setting up a business, leaving work, traveling around the world and being happy. Without this mindset shift, I never would have even gotten started. Before that I was just working and living in London ... and unhappy.

What was the mindset shift that saved me?

The belief that I could improve my life by my own efforts and my own efforts alone.

My old belief – that a good life was caused by external stimuli – was all wrong. Good luck, bad luck or the situations you find yourself in are incidental. They appear as though they’re affecting events but they aren’t. You are.

I realised I could improve my mood by elevating my thoughts. I started to identify the first thoughts that would lead to a downward spiral of negative self-talk, and stop it as quickly as I could.

I started daily meditation and affirmations (all my affirmations have come true). I avoided negativity as best as I could. If something went wrong I didn't blame myself or anyone else. I just concentrated on me in the present moment and I soon forgot about the bad things.

This changed my life: identifying and noticing the negative self-talk and killing the ideas before they spiralled into more damaging thought processes and limiting beliefs.

Whenever you notice yourself thinking negatively, stop and concentrate on the present moment.

What do I mean by concentrating on the present moment? It’s very easy. You can do it now, this very moment.

The present moment is the most important time there is. It's the only time there is.

My book on Re-programming Yourself for Success and Happiness with Meditations, Affirmations, Mindset Shifts is here on Amazon Kindle: http://amzn.to/2vlh6kx (I'll give it to you for free if you can't afford it or you come from a place where you can't get Amazon Kindles).

If there’s one thing I want you to know, it’s this: you can do it.

What do you think about this video? Would you like me to do more about this? Let me know please in the comments.


► Watch on DTube
► Watch Source (IPFS)

Sort:  

Hi - Daily meditation is so important - even when I struggle to 'sit there' (I don't believe in affirmations, strictly Zen for 'me') - that's probably just what 'I' need, and if my mind wanders into dwelling on 'issues' at least I've dealt with them on the cushion so I'm fresher to face the day.

Talking of being in the moment, I also believe that limiting the time one spends on SM is extremely important, on that note I'm about to go do some painting....

Before I go I just also want to say nice video course Rob - the one on Steemit for newbies - very informative. I was also somewhat blown away by the $500 people were earning for restaurant reviews, then back to earth!

Thank you for your message @revisesociology. Great to hear of someone who agrees with me on the importance of daily meditation. I was born in Kent, UK. Glad you liked the course.

Great video Rob, love your inspiration to others.

Thank you for your message, @quantummonks, likewise :)

And you took massive action. I think action doesn't take the credit it deserves in the self help world. Maybe because it's the difficult part.

thank you @iliasdiamantis that's an important point.

I try to improve my mood with the right thoughts sometimes, but it's really hard for me... Thank you for this advice! :)

I'll be writing more on this @anna-redhead

Our thought process is so vital to our success, the negative thought process can lead to a downward spiraling effect. Glad to see you turned it around

indeed @jasonshick thank you for your comment

true dear, we make our own destiny

wow, that was quick! thanks for the comment!

@robcubbon - Absolutely FANTASTIC post! I LOVE the way your mind works! I too, have through circumstance realised that a change in mindset is probably one of the most beneficially powerful things that could happen to any individual in this lifetime!

I came to steemit to do exactly what you have written about. I want to inspire people. Motivate them and get them to change their perspectives on things in life

My old belief – that a good life was caused by external stimuli – was all wrong. Good luck, bad luck or the situations you find yourself in are incidental. They appear as though they’re affecting events but they aren’t. You are.

Really really enjoyed this!

Keep em coming!!!!

Much love xxx

wow @jaynie you put it better than I ever could. I want to inspire people too. I will do more posts like this if people say they want me to or that they enjoy them. I'm going to count your comment as one vote already! Thank you so much. You live in a beautiful country. We all live in a beautiful world :)

Thank you @robcubbon. I am looking forward to seeing more from you :)

This post has received a 1.75 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @robcubbon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68147.96
ETH 3273.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66