I Need Ideas for My 15k Subscribers Youtube Channel (collaboration, Marketing etc.) a Dtube Suggestion on the Payout Structure for Future Videos?

in #dtube7 years ago (edited)

                   

Hey Steemians my son and his cousin made a YouTube channel over a year ago and it has grown to about 15,000 subscribers with over five million views, 60,000 views a day and generates income from $250-$800 a month all from just two videos even though the channel has over 150 videos.  On average It's safe to say it makes $450 a month and like I said that is just from 2 videos!  I have even had offers to sell it for $10,000 but I declined.  All the funds go into a bank account I set up for them and to this day they have made about $5000 dollars.  (I control the site for them meaning It's in my name) OK, my question is since the demographics look good for ages 18-44 years old, what would you do with a channel like this?  I feel at the moment it's like a blank canvas that can go any direction.  I want to do something with the channel or maybe someone who has YouTube expertise can come in and collaborate and we can focus the channel more towards Steemit and Crypto?  I am even open to hiring someone to point me in the right direction on what I should do with this channel.

                       

If anyone is interested and would like the channel name please contact me on discord under road2wisdom. I get a lot of people asking me if I use the same name on YouTube and no I do not. (that person runs a great Muslim channel) So if you are interested and want to check the channel out feel free to message me or leave your steem.chat or discord name below. If you have any ideas or want to do a collaboration or if you are good at marketing please contact me.  I am open to listening to all ideas and I look forward to reading them below.

Thank you

Sheryl

img source


My suggestion for Dtube 

Do you think the payout window should be longer than 7 days? I feel that when It comes to videos they can generate money almost on a daily basis.  I don't know the technical end to how it runs on the blockchain but I see it's tied into our post payout 7 days window.  Would there be a way to extend that window for videos in the future and is it even a good idea? For example, let's say someone posts a great video on someone and then it's the anniversary of the subject in that video a year later the video will generate more traffic and upvotes.  When a post gets upvoted after the 7-day payout what happens to the payment up votes? I might have it all wrong and maybe you still get paid after the week is up but I was told that after the seven days even if a post gets upvoted It isn't the same payout structure.  Maybe keeping the Dtube payouts a little longer would help content creators a little more in the future? If I am wrong about the payments please correct me. Again this was just a suggestion and I love Dtube and even the current way it's structured. Thank you for listening and have a great day.

    

I hope you enjoyed. Please Upvote, Resteem, and Follow me @road2wisdom

 


Sort:  

Hi @road2wisdom as I think that you should start using Both platforms and keep on Staying. Nobody knows what will happen to Youtube, but certanly there is a big infrastructure behind, but even Rome fell some day.

They are having a lot of problems as I know, and people is going out from there, or getting hard to make content in many cases because the earnings for creators are lower and lower. (I think they spend all the money in the new logo and visual that they show today Lol!)

My advice is to work with both... and wait. Still that you are just making money so great!

Is changing for users and creators so much and so fast. Personally, I use Youtube and I have some Chromecasts so... I really use it and also make some content too but not for mine (Post-production) and I think that they are doing all that they can to make a change now, but the Platform is in danger because is not well directed. As user, i can see a difference with all the Ads and Woos... is a change that is not good at all...

Whatever you do... just don't stop making content! :)

Oh no, this Youtube thing was never for me it was something my son and his cousin created under my watch! But I am thinking now that We have a following and so many views a day how can I incorporate Steemit or Crypto news into this channel, the demographics are perfect for this. Basically I want to expand the channel and I was looking for ideas because I am no YT expert but I can feel something good can be done with others here on Steemit with the channel as I look at it as a blank canvas :) Thanks again for sharing @leotrap? What does your name mean? leo as in law enforcement?!??! lol

Frankly, I'm kind of shocked they're still earning anything near that much on YouTube. I don't know the type of content, but just be aware that (as happened with us) YT could decide to demonetize you at any time for any reason, even if those videos have been raking money in for years. I've also been hearing that YouTube may be going after people "too heavily" promoting their patreon links.

Also, if the type of content they're making is already working, probably best for them to stick with it for now. If anything, they should be trying to get those subs to follow on steemit.com as well (if they're not already) and try to build alternate revenue streams from it.

Regarding dtube, I did mention to @heimindanger to check out my "Past-Payout Monetizer". If he decides to try implementing something similar for dtube though is another question.

Hi @alexpmorris they already got a strike a community, one for no reason at all. So they cant live stream for another 2 months. That's the idea, I want to build it into a Steemit/crypto info center. I don't use Patreon, so no worries there! The past-pay-Monetizer sounds good, are you a programmer? Do you know how to work the bot programs the codes like booster are out there. If so let me know I want to ask you something in chat thanks

Hahaha... 1 - So good to make Crypto channel to young people in there with that YT channel, I mean...could be a great thing to explore! 2- If you are feeling something good with this... Well! Go ahead..that's the signal! Make to your child to start a Crypto-program, the idea has potential but well all depends too in which topics are they talking nowaday..but well everything depends in the case..if you want give me the channel via Discord. And 3-
about my name..yes! I'm a law enforcement officer when i'm not working as photographer. Do you have a problem? Just call me.... :)

well , i think dtube is the second gen youtube with high potential of payouts...

upvoted...!!!

Thank you and I agree I will be putting these videos on Dtube soon :)

Hi Sheryl, it's awesome to hear your successful experience on YouTube. I guess people love some educational channel ( e.g. how to make up, how to invest). You can try to share the skills or knowledge you good at with others.

Hi @steemitowner I am thinking education too. More towards Steemit, bitcoin and Crypto in general. Otherwise if I will just leave it as is. thanks for sharing :)

That would be great because most people on steemit shoud be interested in Steemit, Bitcoin and Crypto these topics. Hope you have a greater success! :)

Beautiful post , ideas, and concept as well as picture. I wish you and yours luck.

Thank you @wethebang I appreciate your nice comments :)

Sorry, what is dtube ? Are there similiar with youtube chanel or something else ?

Hi @santi84 , Dtube is a new platform into the Blockchain as Youtube but different in many ways, and the best thing is that interacts directly into Steemit. Just check #Dtube or https://dtube.video/

Good Stay and Welcome to Steemit!

Thanks for answer his question @leotrap!
Have a great day :0)

You are welcome girl... any doubt just find me in discord too! Great day to :U

Will do :) Thank you

I fail to see how people are supposed to give you channel specific ideas without you giving us more information on it. The best you can do, I guess, is to figure out why these two videos were so popular. Read the comments, make some guesses and make more videos. If you really are generating that amount of money, it won't be due to your subscriber base, but rather random people stumbling across it- the easier route would be to make more of these simpler one-shot videos. The harder route would be to build up a fan-base and release videos in regular intervals.

No I don't want to do what my son and nephew did I want to take advantage of the fact the we have over 4 million views 60k a day and over 15k subs. and take this channel in a new direction. I know why the videos are popular. It's a blank slate with all the tools I just need the ideas. You need to have the VISION and that's what I am looking for someone with the VISION
WOOOOOO thanks for your input

This post has received a 11.98 % upvote from @lovejuice thanks to: @road2wisdom. They have officially sprayed their dank amps all over your post rewards. GOOD TIMES! Vote for Aggroed!

Well I Dun Know about it, as iam new here but i also want to learn, so if anybody knows please tag me aswell, this post is quite informative, thanks to author for updating my knowledge

Wow - That is incredible. I have a Youtube Channel with about 1,600 Subscribers and make about $40 a month. It is called Offgrid Life and my Son has a Channel called Shadfly Films that makes about $30 a month. Would love to collaborate somehow.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60782.57
ETH 2381.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64