Frankie And Rebecca Sing

in #dtube7 years ago


Frankie is a Double Yellow Headed Amazon Parrot. She's 18 years old. She has a vocabulary of approximately 50 words. I have taught her to sing a version of the "Kookaburra" song which is an Australian nursery rhyme. The song was original written by a lady named Marion Sinclair in 1932. I changed the words a little bit to incorporate Frankie's name into the song.
The lyrics that Frankie can sing are:

Frankie bird sits in the old gum tree
Frankie bird sits and she laughs at me
Laugh Frankie bird, laugh Frankie bird
Way up in your tree
Ha ha ha

Frankie also likes to sing in an opera-style and as you can hear, she can project her voice very loudly with a lot of energy behind it.

Frankie has an ability to lift people's moods because for the most part she is a very happy bird and doesn't get angry very often. I hope she has brought a smile to your face with her short performance.

I welcome your comments and I invite you to follow me on my journey...occasionally there will be singing.

~ Rebecca Ryan and Frankie. ;)


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Im really glad that you get enjoyment out of Frankie. I haven't had the best experiences with birds as pets in my life. When I lived at home with my parents, my mother had a cockatiel that almost drove me nuts. All I ever hear was "Pretty Boy!" over and over again. And if he wasn't screaming that, he would be whistling to a very high pitch. Keep in mind that I was working 3rd shift at the time and was trying to sleep during the day. I tried to make friends with him but the little shit loved to chew on my finger.

My wifes step mom has two solid white tropical birds (I don't want to mis lable them by calling them parrots because Im not sure, but I do know they're tropical birds.) And those two sumbitches will rip your fingers off if you stick them in their cage! They seem all sweet and innocent and her step mom talks to them like they're lil babies. They seem very approachable and you really want to pet one and they act like they will let you at first, but its all an act and part if their plan of attack. Because as soon as you stick your digit in between those bars, it's like the jaws of life have clamped down on your ass! Initial instinct is to pull away which causes a massive disturbance in the cage. Birds raising hell, flapping wings and running in to shit. Then the step mom is looking at you like you're the bad guy and you obviously done something wrong. SMDH
Like I said, I'm glad that you enjoy your bird. You and I have many things in common but this is not one. I will enjoy him from a distance lol.

wonderfull frankie and rebecca sing and we wait for a song of hope we listen this singing .

You have brought some very good issues to light in your comment about keeping exotic birds. Many are just like "raptors" which are birds of prey. Training is required for anyone who is planning to care for these birds.
You can't show fear and you must socialize them and set the pecking order of dominance in the house. If these things are not done or not done well, the bird will dominant the whole house and be VERY difficult to live with. Many birds are killed or re-homed because people don't know or just don't provide enough guidance or social interaction for these birds outside of their cages. A bird that is rarely let out of their cage, goes "mental" just like people do in confinement. When this happens they are a loose cannon and can't be trusted around people who don't have the proper training to interact with them. A bird bite can be worse than a dog bite.

Rebecca
That is so cute. I know that you love and enjoy your bird. She sings well.
And I thought I heard your singing voice in there as well.
So, maybe you could add a song in the future for us that you sing?
The little short clip or version sounds good enough that I wondered how you do by yourself too,
The bird is amazing. She sings much better than most of us. Ha

Francis

Haha! Yes, perhaps @francisk...one day maybe I will sing. The issue is that Frankie likes to take over. LOL!

i love parrots my friend had 3 of them they were great talkers, but i got my finger bitten really badly once it went right to the bone!

Oh I am sorry to learn that you received a parrot bite. They are awful and as much as Frankie comes across as a happy and sweet little bird, she is lethal and commands respect when handling. When she turned 10 years old, she entered puberty and started biting me. She decided to compete with me for @knarly327's affection and I'll tell you, he does his best, just to tolerate her. Spring is the worst time of year for this biting behaviour and she's bitten me a few times to the point where she's torn my skin. It's worse than a dog bite and not something that I would wish on anybody.

Wow, that is so cool.I always wanted a have a cool talking Parrot. But when you think about it, it sends chills down my spine. A bird talking English is so creepy. But cool bird.

Yes @crypto3lite!
Over the years, we've had other pets in our household. Frankie learned to call for our dog, in my voice.
She'd manipulate him very badly and call for him when he was at the other end of our house...not in eyesight of me. So, he'd come running and he'd get so disgusted when he realized it was the bird calling for him and not me. LOL!

wow... beautiful picture of a beautiful bird....

Thank you for taking a look @hamet123! If you are new to dtube, you just have to click on the picture and the video will load for you. :)

Oh yeah Rebecca, you're back with your beautiful bird and it was spicy to find out that Frankie can not only talk but also sing! I'm sure you and Frankie are not bored! Thank you and keep us informed of your communication.

It is never dull in our household @serkagan! Frankie make sure of that. LOL!

Wow, that's what I thought, my friend :)

awsh that is so cool to have a talking parrot..since my childhood i wanted a parrot to whom i can talk to..to share my secrets to have my company when nobody else is there..but i couldn't do that..poor me..

It's never too late @steemclaira! I would highly recommend (to anyone who is thinking about taking on the responsibility of an exotic bird) doing research on the breed, that you are interested in. They demand a lot of attention and patience.

wow it so cool @rebecca she look so beautifull and also that so good to know that u teach him to sing it will be very happiest day when she will singing some better and hope u teach him soon

Thanks @shencoin! Frankie decides what she wants to learn to sing and what she doesn't. She also decides when, so it is somewhat difficult to get her to cooperate to perform. She has to feel like it. :)

I always have parrots and birds compilation videos on my watch later section on youtube! Nice parrot,they are incredible animals

Thank you @chelinxarl! I think so too. ;)

wonderfull frankie and rebecca sing and we wait for a song of frankie and rebecca hope we listen this singing soon from u mam

Thanks for your comment @robrowe! Just click on the picture, if you haven't already and you'll hear Frankie's singing and a little bit of mine as I'm prompting her. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61059.95
ETH 2677.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61