@polebird musings: ❤️ Let your true colors shine through + dtube pole video ❤️

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)

“Can you remember who you were, before the world told you who you should be?”

― Danielle LaPorte

FullSizeRender 4.jpg

This quote resonates with me a lot. I wonder how much have we changed our true selves due to the pressures of modern day society. Are you who you want to be? Are you doing what you want to do? It is no secret that our environment and surroundings factor in to shape the individual that we are today. But really, how much of ourselves have we sacrificed of our to fit in to the norm or just to please others? Just a thought to ponder.

DSC03557-Edit.jpg

I'm writing this post today because I am a big believer in doing what you love and to follow your passions as you see them. Too often we give up a bit of what we love and who we are to avoid the scrutiny of others to our own dismay. It can be hard to look past the judgment received, but the fulfilling feeling that you get from being true to and understanding yourself is deep.

Snapseed 5.jpg

This thought touches me greatly, especially when I apply it to the subject of pole. Too often I see newcomers to the pole world who develop a passion for pole, but the scrutiny and mindset of society hold them back. Some individuals fight through the pressures of society to do what they love completely and openly, without worrying about other's reactions or scrutiny, but it often takes time and courage. It is unfair to ourselves to place limitations on ourselves based on what others think, but everyone including me is guilty of this. Let your true colors shine through!

IMG_4040 2.jpg

And by the encouragement of new Steemit friends (thank you!), I've uploaded a short pole combos to dtube so you can watch and listen with music! This particular video is dear memory for me, it was the first time that I successfully did a shoulder mount on spinner after 1 year of pole class. This has the tricks - a climb, an aerial invert, superman, aerial shoulder mount.


Check it out here for my other pole videos:

Combo 1 - static - around the world - waterfall - butterfly - extended butterfly -inside leg hang -handstand

Combo 2 - spinner – lol not sure of the names of the tricks on this one!

❤️ I truly hope you find the inspiration to remember who you want to be instead of how the world wants you to be. ❤️

IMG_4088.JPG

Thanks for reading! I appreciate all of the thoughts, upvotes, and comments. Sparkle on Steemians!

LOVE,
JESS


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I love this!
You know, I was just thinking the other day - what would I be like without all the pressures of society?
This was beautifully written and your video is so graceful!
❤️

thank you my new friend! :) that quote just really sits with me! Unfortunately the pressures of society will always be at work, but I wanted to write about this because I think that just being aware and trying to stay true to yourself can help. So glad you liked the video! I'm excited about tube, pole videos with music are just that much better!!

You are very strong.

thank you! :)

I liked the reflection of doing what I like and live the life where our body feels happy

yessss <3 <3

Beautiful! You look like a little feather ♡

hehehe thanks :) the bird in me is coming out!

I know I have changed a lot from my younger self. I wonder how I would be if I lived in another place. Would I be bad or better person?

Interesting thought @polebird!

thanks future! Lots to think about :) you would start to be a past thinker hehe

Thanks for watching!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09