Using D.Tube For The First Time

in #dtube7 years ago

dtubeupload.png

I need your help. I'm attempting to make my first upload to D.Tube but keep running into this same stopping spot where it appears it gets stuck and doesn't move forward.

I originally started with a rather large video but I noticed some other posts saying it needed to be smaller than 1gb so I've compressed it down to around 433mb. From there I just clicked the link and started uploading but after the file gets completed it moves to the screenshot above. From here it just sits and never makes any progress. If I try to hit submit at the bottom of the upload page it tells me I need to upload a video.

Does anyone have any suggestions for getting the video to properly upload?

Sort:  

That's not what happened to me, but maybe my solution will help you too. Maybe you changed your Steemit password? If so, try logging in and out of DTube with the new credentials, via SteemConnect. Because it could be the case, that you are still logged into DTube with the old password.
If not, maybe try another browser, check if the file name is not in capital letters (e. g. *.MP4). Also make sure you upload the Snap, WHILE the video is uploading.

I also wrote about an error here: https://steemit.com/dtube/@trustert/fix-dtube-error-while-submitting-to-the-blockchain

It must have been something with credentialing. I stopped trying with my posting key and used SC and it let it go through the first time. Thank you!!

Glad I could help. ;)

sorry @patrickulrich, but I have never uploaded via dtube, not I do not want to give advice, but I have never.

I also thinking to convert you tube channel into Dtube, you can take help from the posts relating D tube

Your video is not uploaded ...again upload your video when it get done green tick appears behind video just like snap :)

I've tried to upload around 7 times but it always gets to the end and moves to this. I'm going to try clearing all of my cache and see if there's anything interfering.

thank you for sharing my brother's knowledge

gd post

Useful information @patrickulrich,
For those who want to join on dtube

DTube requires an IPFS tool so you can upload videos. Without IPFS, the video upload process will be successful.

IPFSdroit must be enabled for the upload process to succeed.
DTube is a peer to peer medium. Ideally, we should have our own IPFS server capable of online continuously.

hope it helps you :)
follow & vote @ahyazya

No, that's not correct; you do not need to have IPFS installed locally in order to post to DTube. DTube uses IPFS to host the files, but it initially seeds the videos itself. When you upload a video it goes to a central DTube server and they host the initial IPFS seed of the video. If you have access to an IPFS server, you should "pin" your own videos there, which will help with seeding/distribution, but it's not a hard requirement for even uploading your video.

What format was the video you were trying to upload? The video upload initially goes to a DTube server for re-processing (they generate a few different resolutions of video, and upload them to IPFS), and if the video is a non-standard format, or not in a format that's stream-friendly, that may be part of the problem. If it's not already an MP4 format, maybe try converting the video to MP4 and then try uploading that video and see if that works better?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62684.33
ETH 2456.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66