Jesu, der du meine Seele

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)


In the comments under this post, https://www.palnet.io/palnet/@partitura/4v0la0vkul9, @contrabourdon more or less challenged me to play something I composed myself. It so happens I did write one composition once. I wrote it somewhere in the time I studied harmony and contrapunt. I have no idea why I chose this particular chorale. But it’s clear I must have heard Bach’s cantata BWV 78 around the same time, because the right hand part of my piece uses the same melodic figure as the accompaniment of the aria Wir eilen mit schwachen, doch emsigen Schritten.

It is my pleasure to share this composition with you. @Contrabourdon suggested to give it the catalogue number PartituraWV 1. However, that suggests the existence of a WV 2; and there is none such thing. So I leave it without number. If you want to have a go at it yourself, the score is available on my website:

http://partitura.org/index.php/auke-j...

I play some things a bit different from what's written in the score, but hey, I'm the composer so I am allowed to do that! :-)


▶️ DTube
▶️ YouTube
Sort:  

Wow. I love it! Trios are very tricky to play. Nowhere to hide. You are brave in investing and brave in playing 😂. Thank you for sharing this Partitura original. @tormus1958

Playing trios is one of my favorite things to do. Investing not so much... that happened by accident :-)

I share your passion for Trios. My teacher would say that organists should always have one ‘on the boil’ ie working on one. Whilst Bach’s trios are on a peak of their own, I have come to know those by Krebs and what we’ll-crafted works they are!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yes, Kreb's trios are really fantastic. I've played several of them. And Scheibe wrote 3 very nice triosonatas; if you don't know them yet you should check them out.

Thanks for the tip. I am always very happy to discover composers I have never come across.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Partitura publishes his scores at http://partitura.org

Posted using Partiko iOS

Who publishes Scheibe? I just looked on IMSLP and couldn’t find any of his trios there.

Posted using Partiko iOS

You can find them on my website: http://partitura.org/index.php/scheibe-johann-adolph/
Scroll down, the triosonatas follow after the partitas.

Thank you! They do look interesting. I’ll start learning them.

@tormus1958 I recorded an anonymous work that @partitura engraved recently.

Posted using Partiko iOS

The next challenge will be to play the Six Bach Trio Sonatas?

Posted using Partiko iOS

I'll pass. Too much of a challenge for me.

They require courage, commitment and nerves of steel!

I learnt them years ago but need to revise them.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Record them for the contest!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I need a while to work them up to a respectable standard.

Posted using Partiko iOS

That will take some time!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I did. However it does not become visible on palnet.io, only on steemit.com. And when I edit the post on palnet, the extra tags disappear again on steemit.com as well. This is really annoying. I hope it is a bug and not intended behavior and that it gets fixed.

I just use the Steemit platform and add the tags. I only go to palnet or steemleo to claim rewards. However, I’ll soon be able to script that so I don’t have to have all those tabs open 😉

Posted using Partiko iOS

True, nowhere to hide but they are rewarding! There are simple trios eg Gerber which you can look at just to master some before going to Bach.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Really very skillfully written...

How about that PartituraWV 2?

By the way, a number of years ago I have created 7 similar chorale preludes in the style of Krebs. Here's one:

When I sent them to the publisher he said, "nobody can compete with Herr Bach..." [sigh...]

For what it's worth: I like it. And given that it is improvised it's all the more impressive.
And who needs a publisher nowadays? You can sell them on your own website. And if you want them beautyfully engraved I'd be happy to give it a shot. I dare say the quality of my engraving is rather high... :-)

Thank you! Yes, selling a score on my own website is a good option. The funny hing is that I might have lost the score with the old disk, I think.

That's too bad. Well, you can always write it put again from the recordings you made.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you partitura! You've just received an upvote of 38% by artturtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

Thank you partitura! You've just received an upvote of 68% by tommyknockers!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61840.18
ETH 2589.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55