Why I believe D.Tube can never replace YouTube

in #dtube7 years ago

dtube steemit post.jpg

Ever since I was first introduced to Steemit, I've been actively following the development of D.Tube. Until now, I've mostly been watching from the sidelines, as the uploader seemed to struggle with long videos and certain high quality formats. I never really considered this a problem, as I could just re-render the video with slightly lower quality settings, but it has kept me from using it actively, as I'd rather wait until the platform has matured and its childhood issues have been sorted out.

D.Tube 0.7

A few days ago, the D.Tube 0.7 update was released. One of the features which was addressed, was improved encoding and HD support. I decided to give it a try and started uploading one of my YouTube videos. Previously, if the upload did not work, the site displayed an error message before I could finish the upload process, but this time the upload process went through without any problems. Or so I thought...

It turns out that the video had indeed been uploaded successfully, but when I tried to watch it, the screen displayed the following error message:

The media could not be loaded, either because the server or network failed or because the format is not supported.
I figured that I might try a more common format, as I had done before, but then I made a horrifying realization which really made me question the platform's potential.

Videos on D.Tube cannot be deleted!

There is no way to delete videos on D.Tube. From what I understand, the fact that D.Tube videos are written to the blockchain, means that my unplayable video will forever be stuck there. In my case, the only consequence of this is the mild OCD itch which comes from a useless upload just laying there. For a video sharing site in general, I see it as a major dealbreaker. Sure, people can be cautious about what they choose to upload, but accidents happen. I'm now seriously questioning myself whether a blockchain-based video sites is actually a good idea. The only solution I see to this, is to implement some kind of delete function. I'm not sure if this is even possible. If it is possible, I'm curious as to why no delete option currently exists. As a worst case solution, there should be a way to hide the video from D.Tube. After all, the video can be removed from the Steemit post it's posted in, within a certain timeframe.

As I was thinking of how YouTubers would perceive D.Tube, I realized that the fact that D.Tube is Steem-based brings about another dealbreaker.

Any uploaded video will only generate revenue for seven days!

I've heard people reason that former YouTubers switch over to D.Tube because of YouTube implementing stricter revenue policies. This had me thinking. D.Tube's seven day only revenue seems like a pretty strict revenue regulation. From what I can understanding, the only YouTubers benefiting from switching over to D.Tube, are those who upload very frequently, those who have not yet reached the stats required for monetization on YouTube, or those whose content does not comply with YouTube's guidelines.

Unless you're within the mentioned categories, I don't think D.Tube seems like an attractive alternative to YouTube. Personally, I would be very discouraged if YouTube only had revenue enabled for videos the first seven days after uploading. It often takes more than seven days before a video gets traction and gains a lot of views. After seven days on D.Tube, a video is pretty much forgotten.

One of the things I (and probably other content creators) find attractive with YouTube, is that if you spend your time and effort and make something amazing, it will continue to bring you passive income pretty much forever. You just can't say the same about D.Tube.

D.Tube still has a market

While the former paragraphs might seem discouraging, I still believe that D.Tube has its place. After all, people are using it and succeeding at it. Still, there are some architectural design decisions which might limit its usecases. Let me know in the comments section if you agree, or if you have alternative views. Maybe some of my assumptions are wrong (I hope so).

Sort:  

This comment comes after my previous comment and after I read it all and agreed on it all and now a new piece of blockchain pollution made me dig both my older thread about this subject:
https://steemit.com/dtube/@stimialiti/before-you-upload-vids-to-dtube-and-overload-it
and this newer thread of yours.

This post has received a $20.00 % upvote from @siditech thanks to: @stimialiti.
Here's a banana! banana-small.png

You got a 100.00% upvote from @greengrowth thanks to @stimialiti! You too can use @GreenGrowth by sending your post URL in the memo field to the bot. Minimum bid is 0.01.

If you feel this post is spammy or not worthy of @Greengrowth you can contact a moderator in our Discord Channel https://discord.gg/6DhnVTQ.

You got a 32.17% upvote from @sleeplesswhale courtesy of @stimialiti!

Great post! You've earned a 18.12% upvote from @dolphinbot

You got a 20.81% upvote from @luckyvotes courtesy of @stimialiti!

You got a 7.45% upvote from @oceanwhale With 35+ Bonus Upvotes courtesy of @stimialiti! Delegate us Steem Power & get 100%daily rewards Payout! 20 SP, 50, 75, 100, 150, 200, 300, 500,1000 or Fill in any amount of SP. Click For details | Discord server

I did not read it yet but agree on the bottom line anyway.
I posted a thread about dtube in particular in the past and quite a lot about steemit which is relevant too.

Yeah, I like the idea of summing up the whole article in headlines, and then those who disagree can read the rest;) I've revoked my D.Tube permissions for now, so I guess we'll see what the future brings.

Did you revoke them because they claim a part of your author rewards even when the rewards are on posts that were not posted through them?

Is DTube's content stored on the Steem blockcahin?

I tried talking to some developers about it, and from what I understood, it was not possible to take parts of rewards not posted through the app itself, but then again, the SteemConnect source code is pretty extensive, so I haven't been able to verify it myself yet. Regardless, as long as I don't use it, I prefer to limit any point of risk.

ChainBB always claimed a part of its users author rewards.
Also, check my profile, I resteemed a post claiming it did happen and how to get free from it.
Also, check for "comment_benefactor_reward" in inertia's profile.
He is not the only one doing it.
What do you think it is?

I went through the the sources of the comment_benefactor_reward found here https://steemd.com/@inertia and while there clearly is a benefactor reward from people who have posted through dmania, those same people have also posted posts not through dmania and in those cases there doesn't seem to be any comment_benefactor_reward.

This comment has received a 100.00 % upvote from @steemdiffuser thanks to: @stimialiti. Steem on my friend!

Above average bids may get additional upvotes from our trail members!

Get Upvotes, Join Our Trail, or Delegate Some SP

You got a 4.44% upvote from @adriatik courtesy of @stimialiti!

You got a 100.00% upvote from @greengrowth thanks to @stimialiti! You too can use @GreenGrowth by sending your post URL in the memo field to the bot. Minimum bid is 0.01.

If you feel this post is spammy or not worthy of @Greengrowth you can contact a moderator in our Discord Channel https://discord.gg/6DhnVTQ.

You got a 100.00% upvote from @greengrowth thanks to @stimialiti! You too can use @GreenGrowth by sending your post URL in the memo field to the bot. Minimum bid is 0.01.

If you feel this post is spammy or not worthy of @Greengrowth you can contact a moderator in our Discord Channel https://discord.gg/6DhnVTQ.

This comment has received a 50.00 % upvote from @steemdiffuser thanks to: @stimialiti. Steem on my friend!

Above average bids may get additional upvotes from our trail members!

Get Upvotes, Join Our Trail, or Delegate Some SP

You got a 8.00% upvote from @adriatik courtesy of @stimialiti!

You got a 25.00% upvote from @greengrowth thanks to @stimialiti! You too can use @GreenGrowth by sending your post URL in the memo field to the bot. Minimum bid is 0.01.

If you feel this post is spammy or not worthy of @Greengrowth you can contact a moderator in our Discord Channel https://discord.gg/6DhnVTQ.

You got a 1.82% upvote from @thebot courtesy of @stimialiti!
I have 10% guaranteed positive return on bids to help minnows.
Delegators get 95% of daily rewards, so delegate me some Steem Power to earn daily: 20, 50, 75, 100, 150, 200, 300, 400, 500, 1000 or Fill in any SP.
For details click here.

You got a 10.00% upvote from @mitsuko courtesy of @stimialiti!

You got a 16.67% upvote from @greengrowth thanks to @stimialiti! You too can use @GreenGrowth by sending your post URL in the memo field to the bot. Minimum bid is 0.01.

If you feel this post is spammy or not worthy of @Greengrowth you can contact a moderator in our Discord Channel https://discord.gg/6DhnVTQ.

This comment has received a 16.67 % upvote from @steemdiffuser thanks to: @stimialiti. Steem on my friend!

Above average bids may get additional upvotes from our trail members!

Get Upvotes, Join Our Trail, or Delegate Some SP

Thx for that quite informative post. Keep up with creating interesting content.
I know it's hard at the beginning to build solid follower base. But just don't give up. Steemits needs solid content builders.

I agree man, its unfortunate. But Youtube may shift toward decentralization which in the end is an overall win.

True. YouTube has made some unpopular decisions, but they have been good at experimenting with new features, getting feedback and then changing for the better, even if it takes some time. YouTube has mostly been good to me personally, so I do have a tiny hope that once YouTube sees that some of their content creators switch over to YouTube, they will start to understand what the users really want. While I'm not too concerned about how this plays out, I think the most important aspect is the fact that there is competition in the market, which will prevent any side from movin too far away from what its users want.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63490.29
ETH 2598.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78