Waxwing Poetic - Just A Bird And It's Prey

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)


I was walking in the park, just the other day, when this fine looking bird came fluttering my way. My crack research team (@brisby and I) thinks this is a cedar waxwing. It's definitely a cool looking bird. As a bonus to this video, you can hear an obnoxious girl talking loudly in the background.


LogoStripSmaller.gif


      Waxwings are a member of the cardinal family. Instead of the bright red color normally associated with cardinals, waxwings are usually light brown in color. Like cardinals, waxwings have that signature crest upon their heads.

      Waxwings represent gentleness and courtesy. When a waxwing enters your life, look at the gentleness you are experiencing or missing. Are you getting the courtesy you deserve? Are you giving others the courtesy they deserve?


LogoStripSmaller.gif


"They also course over water for insects, flying like tubby, slightly clumsy swallows."


      What initially caught my attention was the movement in my peripheral vision. Something kept flying up, hovering for a split second, and then diving below the embankment. As I filmed I wondered what this bird was doing.

      It wasn't until I watched the video on my PC that I noticed the big, juicy, bug fly by it. How lucky to capture such a moment. Too bad I didn't get a shot of it actually eating the bug. I've still got a long way to go with my camera work.


LogoStripSmaller.gif


Thank you for reading! To learn more about Cedar Waxwings, check out the following websites:


Audubon.org
AllAboutBirds.org


LogoStripSmaller.gif

All gifs and images are my own unless otherwise noted. The rest are used with permission.

LogoStripSmaller.gif

Join Mannabase today and start receiving free cryptocurrency. Click the banner below.
Mannabase.jpg

Keep up to date on everything #freewrite related!
Freewritehouse-footer-400px.png
Click the banner to join the fun!


Thank you, Snook!


▶️ DTube
Sort:  

Recommended for UP-GAGE CHALLENGE by @zephalexia

Posted using Partiko Android

You're welcome👌

Posted using Partiko Android

thanks for this recommendation @kendra19

You have received 5x upvotes from the members of @steemexplorers from your free link submission in our discord server. Steemexplorers is an initiative bringing information on various Steemit services and communities in a central discord to save you time and help you grow. It's free, it's easy, and it's here to help you in so many ways. Come by our discord to learn more! Link to Discord: https://discord.gg/6QrMCFq. Our team also offers an additional upvoting service called @givememonsters where you can presently trade in 1 to 10 DEC from the Steem Monsters game for up to $0.03 upvotes on ANY steemit posts. The vote purchasing value here is some of the best returns on your investments that you can find anywhere so come by and visit this service today!

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

You got voted by @curationkiwi thanks to Omra-Sky🌛💨! This bot is managed by KiwiJuce3 and run by Rishi556, you can check both of them out there. To receive upvotes on your own posts, you need to join the Kiwi Co. Discord and go to the room named #CurationKiwi. Submit your post there using the command "!upvote (post link)" to receive upvotes on your post. CurationKiwi is currently supported by donations from users like you, so feel free to leave an upvote on our posts or comments to support us!
We have also recently added a new whitelist feature for those who would like to support CurationKiwi even more! If you would like to receive upvotes more than 2x greater than the normal upvote, all you need to do is delegate 50 SP to @CurationKiwi using this link.

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @curationkiwi.

Congratulations @omra-sky! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 150 posts. Your next target is to reach 200 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

What a neat looking bird and you can definitely tell it is in the cardinal family. Glad that "the team" found out the name of this bird. It can be very frustrating when you search for hours on end and can't find the answer. I like what waxwings represent so thanks for that information. You made that big bug sound very appetizing. LOL! Great video Omra! I enjoyed it. : )

I never knew how many types of birds there were until I started looking into them. It's mind boggling.

You're telling me. I'm craving a big, juicy bug myself. 😜

Thanks for your support my friend. Wonderful day to you!

I know exactly what you mean. Same goes for flowers and insects.

Ew, Yuck! Craving a big juicy bug just isn't right Omra! LOL!

Thank you for your support as well Omra! Hugs!

It is a fine looking bird! I love the info you shared about what the waxwings represent. Did you know that you can edit your tags? All except the first one. That one cannot be changed. But you did a great job of finding my post and adding your link to #featheredfriday.

Thank you so much. I did know that but always forget to do it. Good to have a reminder.

awesome captures you got there.

Your post has been recommended by @kendra19 for my up-gage challenge

Thank you very much! Have a wonderful day!

I think the girl's chattering annoyed the waxwing too. His head whipping around to stare in her direction...😆

imageedit_99_2482634186.png

I didn't know what waxwings represent, thank you. It has me thinking about what I was experiencing when last I saw one.

Is that a crack pipe on that banner? 😂

Have you seen one since?

Yup! 😆 No, I haven't, I want to go back to the lake to look for if there are more there.
I did have a bird settle onto a picnic table near me yesterday. It flew away when I went to take its picture though. Looking through the guides I think it's a chipping sparrow but I can't be sure.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70733.96
ETH 3563.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76