Accent Challenge | Vlog #16

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)

Accent.png

Heeeello steem!

I randomly got inspired to do an accent challenge because I love moving through the #dtube platform and hearing the diversity of accents. But to be real, I just love hearing the way @slayerkm says yoghurt! 😂💛
I thought you guys might get a kick out of hearing me saying some words and things in my aussie accent. I'd like to think my accent isn't as thick as some of my fellow mates but if I have a beer in hand it can get a bit ridiculous.

What do you call a sweet carbonated drink?
What do you call gym shoes?
What do you call the device that turns on the tv?
What do you call the wheeled contraption that carries your groceries to the supermarket?
What do you call a bug that rolls into a ball when you touch it?
How would you address a group of people?
What do you call your grandfather?
What do you call your grandmother?
Which is it? A lightening bug or a firefly?
How do your pronounce water?
What do you call the thing in which you drink water from at school?
What do you call a long narrow board that pivots in the middle so that as one end goes up the other goes down?
How do your pronounce pecan?
How do your pronounce aunt?
How do your pronounce caramel?
How do your pronounce route?
How do your pronounce crayon?
How do your pronounce mayonnaise?
How do your pronounce almond?
How do your pronounce aluminum?
How do your pronounce GIF?

Tuesday, Tuna, Tune!! (Chuesday, Chuna, Chuuunne!)

LET ME HEAR YOUR ACCENT! Take the challenge! 💗

Be sure to check out @slayerkm! He is part of the @dtubedaily community and makes some amazing vlogs.

Biggest love to you mates!
Sarah. 🇦🇺


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Water 'bubblers'? 😭😭😭😭

Hahah does no one else say that??

Never heard that before today :)

I never would've guessed!

Ken Oath, water bubblers :)

Thanks @drkent for resteeming this. Man I wish I had an Australian accent. I think I might be able to pull it off since the show glitch on Netflix is popular over here. And when I say over here I mean my house. Lol

The most bogan word we say is "round" . try it. Go rrrrrround!

Everything is said in the nose and poorly formed in the mouth haha.

Hey @neeqi ! This was a real cool video! I love your channel, I just wanted to let you know that I finally made my introduce yourself post in a video/vlog format on DTube :) If you have time feel free to check it out, I would appreciate it alot :)

I've been having trouble loading videos all night but I'll be sure to check it out. I'm about to head to bed!

Hey we're new to the DTube community. We did a video (live) from Australia!

Welcome to the platform!!

Straya, reprezent ! (Take that, spell checker :)

Neeqi, I am brand new to Steemit and I'm up for your challenge. I have travelled extensively since a very young age due to my father being in the defence force and so my accent is not typically aussie. Being new though, I need to ask, can I "reply" with a dtube vid, or do i just upload one and tag it somehow ?

Also ken oath! Yesss, the accent may be a little confused but the wording is all right haha! Welcome to the platform! It's always nice to have another aussie onboard. You can't reply with a video, you'll have to upload another one and if you just tag me in the description I will get a notification from @ginabot and be able to check it out. I actually just watched your banana video and had a decent little laugh!

A bubbler hahah never heard of that!

Actually the way you pronounce words is very similar to English people. The whole Tuna/Tune I say them just like you!!!!!!

P.s thanks for the shout out and I'll do the challenge today so you can laugh at my accent hahahah.

P.P.S it is yogurt not YOOOOOOOOOGURT

I definitely feel like there are some noticeable similarities with aussies and the english.
Also you're welcome! Your yoghurt montage really picked up my mood today and the video was just a spontaneous idea so thank you!
Hahah I'm gonna have to work on my yooooggghuuuuttt then! 😝

High five for procrastinating doing things you enjoy! :)
Interesting, joggers for sports shoes...

I am really interested in the pronunciation differences.
Is it so, that in Australia, you have a sort of 'standard' pronunciation? Like, RP in Britain?

Anyway, the accent's nevertheless cute. :)

Procrastination is my favourite past time! Apparently I perform better when I am under pressure haha.
I wouldn't say that we have a standard because accents definitely vary from where you come from.
And thanks! I always thought it was kind of rough but its the only one I've got. 😊

Well, diamonds are made under pressure...

The right attitude!
I used to be dissatisfied with the way my voice sounds on records/in videos, but now I'm vlogging and just have to deal with that. Like you said - the only one I've got. 😀

@neeqi You are rocking it. I love the simplicity of this video. You have an awesome accent :)

@drkent thank you! 💚

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94