You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Boosting my plants with compost

in #dtube5 years ago

I cleaned my gutters this summer, including one that was hard to reach and hadn't been done for a couple of years. I found that there were very few leaves in it - it had all turned to rich soil! That got me started on making my own compost pile. But instead of just tossing things in a pile, I took some old heating ductwork and made small metal enclosures for it. That worked really well because it trapped the sun's heat and it seems to be breaking down quicker.

A side benefit is I have less waste to toss in the garbage each week - it goes into my homemade composting bin instead. Looking forward to using this for gardening material this spring.

Sort:  

oh this is a fantastic idea! Yes, the heat will definitely make everything break down faster =). And it's truly much better to not throw food scraps in the trash...they make everything smell bad. My trash is "clean" now lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69512.95
ETH 3883.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73